Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Technical Discussion > Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-12-2009, 11:37 AM
White WK Swagga's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2009 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East WishAN*ggaWoods, NY
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 16653
White WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond repute
How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK??? This is my first electrical mod that requires me running wire inti dash for a switch. I'm just wondering how others have done this.
__________________

__________________
The fallen......

09 WK Limited, 3.7 w/ Nav (MYGIG) W/ ipod, Single Kicker 12" CVX sub-ZX750 amp, 20" chrome SRT reps,front & reat SRT sway bars, V-LED interior & license plate, LED cargo light, Dual LED turn bulbs, painted headlight reflector covers, 5k HID lows, 3.5k/5k fogs, K&N Drop in filter, Shorty antenna, Tinted Tails & 3rd brake light, debadged.....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2009, 11:41 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2004 4.7 HO WJ
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2363
5.7Unlimited is just really nice
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

Drill right into the steering column it's what the pros do.




lol sorry I couldn't resist, i'm sure there is an availible grommit somewhere down there. What kind of mod are we talkin about here?
__________________

__________________
-Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2009, 11:57 AM
White WK Swagga's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2009 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East WishAN*ggaWoods, NY
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 16653
White WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

Run wires to put a switch in the dash for LED's in the front of the jeep.
__________________
The fallen......

09 WK Limited, 3.7 w/ Nav (MYGIG) W/ ipod, Single Kicker 12" CVX sub-ZX750 amp, 20" chrome SRT reps,front & reat SRT sway bars, V-LED interior & license plate, LED cargo light, Dual LED turn bulbs, painted headlight reflector covers, 5k HID lows, 3.5k/5k fogs, K&N Drop in filter, Shorty antenna, Tinted Tails & 3rd brake light, debadged.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2009, 11:58 AM
s10eater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 64
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2006
s10eater is on a distinguished road
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

if i recall correctly there is an empty firewall plug(grommet) just above where the throttle is mounted on the firewall.
__________________
1987 Comanche : ZZ4 350
-355HP
-405TQ
2007 WK Overland
mostly stock
2001 TJ SE. 31"KM2s on cragar D styles
JEEP: If i wanted a hummer i would ask your sister.

"if your down for no bad, then i'm up to no good"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2009, 12:02 PM
White WK Swagga's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2009 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East WishAN*ggaWoods, NY
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 16653
White WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

Thanks. I'll check that out. Is there anywhere I could get a OEM button that fits into where the buttons are above the climate control? Like a Blake ESP or hazzard button?
__________________
The fallen......

09 WK Limited, 3.7 w/ Nav (MYGIG) W/ ipod, Single Kicker 12" CVX sub-ZX750 amp, 20" chrome SRT reps,front & reat SRT sway bars, V-LED interior & license plate, LED cargo light, Dual LED turn bulbs, painted headlight reflector covers, 5k HID lows, 3.5k/5k fogs, K&N Drop in filter, Shorty antenna, Tinted Tails & 3rd brake light, debadged.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2009, 12:34 PM
Scottina06's Avatar
JeepGarage Founder
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berea, Kentucky
Posts: 49,614
Thanks: 896
Thanked 1,126 Times in 772 Posts
Rep Power: 7718603
Scottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

there is a grommet that you can go through the firewall on the left side too I believe
__________________
SCOTT
The HARDER you work...the LUCKIER you are!
2014 REDLINE red Jeep SRT "BLOODIED\BlackOps CFR Edition" 1 of 1
2013 JKU Wrangler 10A-stormtrooper'ed, JW Speaker and more!
Previous JEEP rides-
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT-deep cherry
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo-inferno red



Twitter-The_Jeep_Guy
Instagram-thejeep_guy

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2009, 01:04 PM
Megatron's Avatar
Super Moderator

My Jeep: 2007 WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 12,226
Thanks: 206
Thanked 141 Times in 129 Posts
Rep Power: 2899287
Megatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond reputeMegatron has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

Hey guys, dont flame, but what is this firewall.

I have a separate switch for my custom fogs nate, and my uncle ran the wires through some circular hole that goes straight into the dashboard. Is this it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2009, 01:24 PM
White WK Swagga's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2009 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East WishAN*ggaWoods, NY
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 16653
White WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond reputeWhite WK Swagga has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

LOL The fire wall is pretty much the wall between the engine bay and the dash.
__________________
The fallen......

09 WK Limited, 3.7 w/ Nav (MYGIG) W/ ipod, Single Kicker 12" CVX sub-ZX750 amp, 20" chrome SRT reps,front & reat SRT sway bars, V-LED interior & license plate, LED cargo light, Dual LED turn bulbs, painted headlight reflector covers, 5k HID lows, 3.5k/5k fogs, K&N Drop in filter, Shorty antenna, Tinted Tails & 3rd brake light, debadged.....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2009, 01:55 PM
hemi.jon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 802
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2885
hemi.jon has a reputation beyond reputehemi.jon has a reputation beyond reputehemi.jon has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

yeah for my cutout i used the unused factory plug in my firewall. its above the accelerator. u can see it easier at first by opening ur engine bay and looking on the driver side
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-12-2009, 02:53 PM
Chris's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 3353
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

or drill a hole and put a new grommet, that works too!
__________________
Chris - '06 WK - GONE
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-12-2009, 03:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2145
A-Mart is on a distinguished road
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

I put mine through a factory grommet.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-12-2009, 03:45 PM
Matt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 34.076513,-118.429573
Posts: 9,269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 11735
Matt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond reputeMatt has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do I get wire through firewall unto dash for a switch on a WK???

I used an unused grommet as well. I have an '06 though, may be different.

__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is the VSS wire The Matthew Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 8 07-22-2010 01:16 AM
Auto up/down window switch feature jeepaholic Visual Modifications 17 08-28-2009 07:01 AM
power wire jeeppro Performance Modifications 8 07-19-2009 10:46 PM
What is this black box found in my dash? TimmyB Grand Cherokee - WK 20 06-30-2009 10:16 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.