Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Technical Discussion > Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-12-2012, 08:53 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
spritemad is on a distinguished road
information display gone mad whaen aftermarket stereo installed

Hi Guys - been looking around this site for a while and thought i'd ask if anyone can help with this, appologies if its in the wrong area ! I have a 2006 Grand Cherokee fitted with factory 6 disc cd changer/navigation unit. I fancied a change so got myself a chinese Radio/DVD/GPS/Bluetooth double din head unit, also got a harness connector and all went well with the install. However.... the information display in the instrument panel now refuses to display anything other than German ! you can change the language to whatever you want and within 5 seconds it switches back to German, As I dont speek German this is not very helpfull can anyone suggest a reason for it or a fix for it ?

Thanks

Paul
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2012, 12:55 PM
SvenskaJeepGuy's Avatar
Let's Roll
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 13,083
Thanks: 139
Thanked 162 Times in 152 Posts
Rep Power: 1255320
SvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: information display gone mad whaen aftermarket stereo installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by spritemad View Post
I fancied a change so got myself a chinese Radio/DVD/GPS/Bluetooth double din head unit

there is your problem right there, what made you think that would be a good idea? lol
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2012, 04:04 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,406
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542569
robpp has disabled reputation
Agree with matt

And


Is your wk an export model?

If so its prolly in the harness. IIRC even legit early PAC. harness had a Lang issue on export wk.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed new stereo head unit but only 1 speaker works??? mccake Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 3 02-12-2012 04:03 PM
2011 Grand cherokee aftermarket stereo install help!! Rydrdg Audio/Visual/Navigation 16 01-05-2012 02:45 PM
Aftermarket Stereo Install dane.p Grand Cherokee - WK 15 06-19-2011 11:34 PM
Aftermarket Stereo Upgrade? RossC Grand Cherokee - WK 30 04-28-2011 07:56 AM
has anyone installed aftermarket sway bars? numb3r1dad Suspension Modifications 5 12-02-2010 08:07 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community