Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Technical Discussion > Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-12-2011, 04:48 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
t2arrington is on a distinguished road
Smile Location for Transmission Output/input Sensors

I have a 2005 cherokee laredo and after first replacing the TCM, my jeep is still having the same problem -- speed go limp or stop pulling while driving, we are now trying to change the input/output sensors and can't find the spot on transmission where we have been told they go.

Is there a mechanic or anyone who have replaced this sensor on this year vehicle. I am starting to think it doesn't exist on mine. Help!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2011, 05:14 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,395
Thanks: 54
Thanked 131 Times in 113 Posts
Rep Power: 542541
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Location for Transmission Output/input Sensors

there are 2 possible trans.

so help the peeps that want to help and please provide the model trans -

545RFE or NAG1???????????
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2011, 05:18 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
t2arrington is on a distinguished road
Re: Location for Transmission Output/input Sensors

Nag1
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2011, 05:23 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,395
Thanks: 54
Thanked 131 Times in 113 Posts
Rep Power: 542541
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Location for Transmission Output/input Sensors

i have a 07 manual;

under SPEED sensors for the nag1../..

DESCRIPTION




The speed sensors, N2 and N3, (6, 8) are fixed to the shell of the electrohydraulic control unit's leadframe via contact blades. The speed sensors are pressed against the transmission housing (2) by a spring (7) which is held against the valve housing of the shift plate (5). This ensures a defined distance between the speed sensors and the exciter ring (4).

OPERATION




Signals from the speed sensors, N2 and N3, (6, 8) are recorded in the transmission control module (TCM), together with the wheel and engine speeds and other information, and are processed into an input signal for electronic control.

Speed sensor N2 (6) records the speed of the front planetary rear annulus assembly (10). Speed sensor N3 (8) records the speed of the K1 clutch (3).



RELATIVE SPEED SENSOR READINGS - NAG 1 TRANSMISSION




There are several things to note regarding the function of the N2 and N3 speed sensors.

K1 clutch (N3 speed sensor) will show no rotation whenever the B1 Brake is applied. N3 = Zero in 1st, 5th and Reverse.
With the vehicle moving forward or reverse, N2 speed sensor reading will be greater than zero in all gears
Whenever the K1 clutch is applied (2nd, 3rd, and 4th) N2 will be equal to N3.
There is no speed sensor internal to the transmission that directly measures input shaft speed. However, when K1 is applied N2 equals input shaft/turbine speed.
The engine speed is fed to the TCM via can bus thus providing impeller speed.
There is no speed sensor internal to the transmission that directly measures output shaft speed. ABS wheel sensors provide output shaft speed.
K1 clutch (N3 speed sensor) will show no rotation whenever the B1 Brake is applied. N3 is equal to zero in 1st, 5th and Reverse gears.
With the vehicle moving forward or reverse, N2 speed sensor reading will be greater than zero in all gears.
Whenever the K1 clutch is applied (2nd, 3rd, and 4th) N2 will be equal to N3.
There is no speed sensor internal to the transmission that directly measures input shaft speed. However, when K1 is applied N2 equals input shaft/turbine speed.
The engine speed is fed to the TCM via the vehicle's communication bus thus providing impeller speed.
There is no speed sensor internal to the transmission that directly measures output shaft speed. ABS wheel sensors provide output shaft speed.

NOTE: N2 sensor, N3 sensor, output shaft speed sensor are speeds relative to the input shaft turbine speed.
GEAR
INPUT SHAFT/TURBINE SPEED
N2 SENSOR
N3 SENSOR
OUTPUT SHAFT SPEED
OVERALL RATIO

1ST
1.0000
0.6081
0.0000
0.2782
3.59

2ND
1.0000
1.0000
1.0000
0.4574
2.19

3RD
1.0000
1.0000
1.0000
0.7115
1.41

4TH
1.0000
1.0000
1.0000
1.0000
1.00

5TH
1.0000
0.6081
0.0000
1.2035
0.83

REVERSE(S)
1.0000
0.6081
0.0000
-0.3157
-3.17




Based on the preceding chart, it appears that N3 sensor is redundant and provides no additional information. However, the TCM needs to know Input Shaft/Turbine speed. Since the N2 sensor is not directly tied to the Input Shaft, the N3 sensor is required to inform the TCM to divide the N2 value by 0.6081 or 1.0000 to calculate actual Turbine speed.


________________________________
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2011, 05:40 PM
DJ BoNiOmArIo's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 10,324
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 12304
DJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Location for Transmission Output/input Sensors

Quote:
Originally Posted by t2arrington View Post
I have a 2005 cherokee laredo and after first replacing the TCM, my jeep is still having the same problem -- speed go limp or stop pulling while driving, we are now trying to change the input/output sensors and can't find the spot on transmission where we have been told they go.

Is there a mechanic or anyone who have replaced this sensor on this year vehicle. I am starting to think it doesn't exist on mine. Help!!!!!
Hey I have had the same issues on my transmission and spent about $2K before finding the solution to it.

Let me know what have you done so far? What kind of symptoms? and what kind of codes are you getting?

Don't go off of what you have read other places trust me I did that and it cost me big

feel free to PM me or email me at omerdemir86 at yahoo dot com
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to increase power output on a stock 3.7 V6 Nick.Nevada Grand Cherokee - WK 58 06-29-2014 10:51 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community