Perform service on overhead console? - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Technical Discussion > Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-16-2014, 09:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 875
Jumpraven is on a distinguished road
Perform service on overhead console?

Just purchased my first Jeep 5months ago, 2004 Grand Cherokee. Two months ago my overhead console was saying perform service, had advance auto tell me it was right front wheel speed sensor. I replaced it and hit reset on console and everything was fine. It has now telling me again to perform service, had them connect up, their saying right front wheel speed sensor. Does that reset button reset the main ecu codes? Are they reading the old code from before? Also noticed when holding the reset button a variance with a number displays, what does that mean? Appreciate any info.
Brett


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-16-2014, 10:06 PM
Frango100's Avatar
The beast from Brazil

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7,330
Thanks: 17
Thanked 378 Times in 365 Posts
Rep Power: 529494
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Perform service on overhead console?

Welcome to the garage Brett.
The overhead panel (EVIC= electronic vehicle information center) doesnīt show any failures from the PCM (powertrain control module)
"Perform service" only means that the preset service limit for the engine oil change is reached. You can change the service distance by yourself.
The EVIC doesnīt reset any set fault in any of the computers. The wheelspeed sensor fault is stored in the ABS control unit and must be reset with the use of an appropriate scanner.
The variance number you saw on the EVIC is a preset number which depends on the place where you live. It is a compensation number used for the compass reading.The owners manual shows a map of the world with the variance number for each area. (if you donīt have the manual, then you can download it, just google it)
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2014, 06:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 875
Jumpraven is on a distinguished road
Re: Perform service on overhead console?

Thank you, I appreciate that. I noticed that I could change the service interval mileage, but, the reset doesn't turn the perform service beeper off? How do I get that reset?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2014, 07:17 AM
Frango100's Avatar
The beast from Brazil

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7,330
Thanks: 17
Thanked 378 Times in 365 Posts
Rep Power: 529494
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Perform service on overhead console?

You have the beeper, but the "perform service" message did reset? Normally there should be a message "reset service distance" after "service interval" option. You probably will have to change the service interval distance before the "reset service distance" message appears.
Just for your reference i attached a page with the compass variance settings.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Compass variance.pdf (143.1 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2014, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 875
Jumpraven is on a distinguished road
Re: Perform service on overhead console?

Thanks for the link. The perform service still lights up too. So every time that thing comes on I have to go in the menu and change the mileage value?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2014, 06:35 PM
Frango100's Avatar
The beast from Brazil

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7,330
Thanks: 17
Thanked 378 Times in 365 Posts
Rep Power: 529494
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Perform service on overhead console?

The message and beep should only come on as soon as the service distance is reached and then you will have to reset it yes. As far as i remember you will have to change the milage before you will get the "reset distance" message.
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2014, 06:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 875
Jumpraven is on a distinguished road
Re: Perform service on overhead console?

Thank you all for the info


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perform Service Message? Mike Sal Troubleshooting/Problems 3 07-15-2014 09:45 AM
Perform service Predator58 Liberty-KJ and KK 0 12-25-2013 04:38 PM
Overhead Console Wiring Overland Ryan Tech Tips/DIY/How To 25 09-03-2013 11:27 PM
"Perform Service" but no codes? wkearney99 Grand Cherokee - WK 10 04-26-2010 01:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.