Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Technical Discussion > Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-23-2009, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1723
Fadii is on a distinguished road
replace tire sensor

Hello
I have one tire sensor get broken , so I buy new one from the dealer.
Can I install it by myself ? or it need the dealer to do the programming for the new sensor ?

Before one year it happen to that one sensor has broken and when I install the new one the TPMS does not recognize the new one until I went to the dealer and he charge me more than the price of the sensor !!

I dont like to pay them again for new programing .. can you help me ?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2009, 12:41 PM
mjl2610's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,524
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 3483
mjl2610 has a reputation beyond reputemjl2610 has a reputation beyond reputemjl2610 has a reputation beyond reputemjl2610 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: replace tire sensor

If your Jeep is a 2005+ model year then there should be no programming required. Do you have an export model?

http://www.wkjeeps.com/wk_tpms.htm
__________________

__________________
-Mike

Mike, 26, have a 2006 Dark Khaki WK Limited 4.7L; SICK stock 17" 5 Spoke Ronins :/ , Walker QuietFlow muffler, 7500K headlamp and fog Halogens, LED license plate lighting, Interior LED lighting, Champion Platinum Power spark plugs.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2009, 03:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1723
Fadii is on a distinguished road
Re: replace tire sensor

thank you mjl2610
yes my WK is 2006
last year I bought one sensor and I replace it with the speare sensor , but it didnt recognize the new sensor and said the spare is missing.. then I toke it to the dealler and they fix it.

I will try to replace it and see ..

any advices before I replace it ?

thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2009, 03:09 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,406
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542569
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: replace tire sensor

you may need to go tothe tire store to get inside the wheel and tire. it can be difficult to break the bead or get the tire and wheel seperated.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2009, 03:10 PM
DJ BoNiOmArIo's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 10,324
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 12320
DJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: replace tire sensor

just go ahead and replace it ... it's about time on those things ... you might want to look on ebay for group buy or where you can buy them for cheaper ... the stealership charges way too much for those ...

it will be cheaper to just buy a set of 4 since you already replaced one and change them out all together ... the life on those things 4-5 years ...

have a tire shop do it not the dealership the tire shop will charge less
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2009, 07:51 PM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 33
Thanked 1,843 Times in 823 Posts
Rep Power: 2392160
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: replace tire sensor

Dealer programming is required for the spare tire sensor, but not for the road wheel sensors, they will automatically be reconized after a short drive.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2009, 08:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1723
Fadii is on a distinguished road
Re: replace tire sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milous View Post
Dealer programming is required for the spare tire sensor, but not for the road wheel sensors, they will automatically be reconized after a short drive.
Now the broken sensor I have it on spare tire, the sensor detect that its low prusser ..
I think I need to bring back the spare tire to its place and install the new sensor instaed of the broken one at the road tires .. do you think it may work ?

I just order it from dealer and I will wait until tomorrow to get it, it cost me about 37$. maybe they have discount too
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-25-2009, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1723
Fadii is on a distinguished road
Re: replace tire sensor

it works fine I just replace it with the road tire and works fine

thanks everyone
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-25-2009, 05:27 PM
Scottina06's Avatar
JeepGarage Founder
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berea, Kentucky
Posts: 48,848
Thanks: 833
Thanked 823 Times in 634 Posts
Rep Power: 7717430
Scottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: replace tire sensor

yes...if your spare has a problem or is low on air...it will show as a low tire. Although I have no spare at all and I have never got a warning
__________________
SCOTT
The HARDER you work...the LUCKIER you are!
2014 REDLINE red Jeep SRT "BLOODIED Edition" 1 of 1
Previous JEEP rides-
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT-deep cherry
2013 JKU 10th anniversary-white
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo-inferno red



Twitter-The_Jeep_Guy
Instagram-thejeep_guy

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-25-2009, 05:55 PM
DJ BoNiOmArIo's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 10,324
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 12320
DJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: replace tire sensor

my spare is off to and I have no warning signal either
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-04-2009, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1723
Fadii is on a distinguished road
Re: replace tire sensor

hello again
I have replaced the sensor and it direct works fine .. but now the spare giving low pressure and I drive more than 400 km and still giving the same message " spare low pressure "

any help plzzzzzzzzz?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-04-2009, 08:03 AM
06HemiLtd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2207
06HemiLtd has a reputation beyond repute06HemiLtd has a reputation beyond repute06HemiLtd has a reputation beyond repute
Re: replace tire sensor

you need to put some air in the spare tire. if you have a long neck tire chuck you can reach it up to the valve stem. if you don't, you'll have to lower the tire down a bit to get the chuck on it. put some air in it and drive for a few minutes. the low pressure indicator should go off
__________________

__________________
Steve-2006 Grand Cherokee Limited-5.7L Hemi-Brute Force CAI-Magnaflow 22" Muffler-Diablosport Predator-SRT8 Rear Sway Bar-Bilsteins-Shorty Billet Antenna-Chrome Turn Signals-Chrome Tow Hooks-Roof Rack-SS Ultras Highs/Lows/Fogs-REC Nav-Commander Shift Knob-20% Tint
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which tire is better Motteler621 Grand Cherokee - WK 12 11-12-2009 11:24 AM
tire upgrade Allaboutjeeps14 Grand Cherokee - WK 6 10-20-2009 05:36 PM
Tire websites?? HEMIBeast Performance Modifications 11 09-16-2009 09:32 PM
wheel speed sensor help ryanwk Grand Cherokee - WK 4 06-14-2009 05:12 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community