Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Technical Discussion > Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1670
abejjani4265 is on a distinguished road
Angry Tpms

i just had my tires replaced all 4 i used one of the old ones as the spare.
i took off from the tire shop yesterday and on my way home the TPMS light beeped and started blinking. checked all 4 tires nothing wrong. went back inside the light was off. drove for a while later and the light flashed again!!! WTF stopped at a gas station check air oressure all see @ 33psi (required pressure) i am going back to the tire place today what should i expect ?? did they screw up the TPMS in one of the tires ?? or they did not reset them or what ??any ideas ??? PLEASE HELP !!!!!!!!!!

PS: its an 07 cherokee laredo
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2010, 10:09 AM
DJ BoNiOmArIo's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 10,324
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 12345
DJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

got ur spare ??? is it at the right pressure also ... remember there are 5 TPMS sensors ... also make sure they flashed it ...

worst case scenario

remove the negative terminal from battery wait 15 minutes step on brakes honk horn for a while then re-connect battery and should at least reset it and clear it
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2010, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1670
abejjani4265 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tpms

what do you mean "make sure they flashed it " ?
sorry not very familiar with the terms
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2010, 10:22 AM
DJ BoNiOmArIo's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 10,324
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 12345
DJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

after installing new tires or messing around with the tpms they have to hook it up to their computers and tell ur on board computer to reset itself to recognize the TPMS ...

try the cheap method first do it on ur own ... by removing the negative battery ...

other question do you have ur spare on the car ??? is it at the right pressure ?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2010, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1670
abejjani4265 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tpms

yeah the spare is on and yeah it is at the right pressure, am sure of that cause it was on before i changed the tires . i used the best out of the others as spare.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2010, 10:26 AM
DJ BoNiOmArIo's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 10,324
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 12345
DJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond reputeDJ BoNiOmArIo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

try the battery method and let us know how that goes
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2010, 10:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1670
abejjani4265 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tpms

at work now i will as soon as i get out of here. and i will post what happens.
Thanks for your help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2010, 11:36 AM
Scottina06's Avatar
JeepGarage Founder
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berea, Kentucky
Posts: 48,997
Thanks: 856
Thanked 889 Times in 651 Posts
Rep Power: 7717604
Scottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Tpms

you just need to drive a few minutes for the tpms to relearn. i just had my wheels switched out and it did the same thing.
__________________
SCOTT
The HARDER you work...the LUCKIER you are!
2014 REDLINE red Jeep SRT "BLOODIED Edition" 1 of 1
Previous JEEP rides-
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT-deep cherry
2013 JKU 10th anniversary-white
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo-inferno red



Twitter-The_Jeep_Guy
Instagram-thejeep_guy

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2010, 02:45 PM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,353
Thanks: 33
Thanked 1,997 Times in 879 Posts
Rep Power: 2392309
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

The 4 road tires sensors self-learn their location, scan tool is not needed. But, the spare must be re-programmed by the dealer. Unhooking the battery will not help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2010, 02:53 PM
Scottina06's Avatar
JeepGarage Founder
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berea, Kentucky
Posts: 48,997
Thanks: 856
Thanked 889 Times in 651 Posts
Rep Power: 7717604
Scottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Tpms

yeah....I dont have a spare though
__________________
SCOTT
The HARDER you work...the LUCKIER you are!
2014 REDLINE red Jeep SRT "BLOODIED Edition" 1 of 1
Previous JEEP rides-
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT-deep cherry
2013 JKU 10th anniversary-white
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo-inferno red



Twitter-The_Jeep_Guy
Instagram-thejeep_guy

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-10-2010, 03:04 PM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,353
Thanks: 33
Thanked 1,997 Times in 879 Posts
Rep Power: 2392309
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tpms

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottina06 View Post
yeah....I dont have a spare though
But the OP does, and it appears that it was not reprogrammed...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1670
abejjani4265 is on a distinguished road
Re: Tpms

i did take the -ve and it did not change anything so i went back to the shop it seems that they broke one of the tpms and put it back thinking i would not notice. !!!
whats wrong with people ?!?!?!?
i gave them some #$@%n and they are gonna order one and replace it on friday.
i will keep you guyes posted...
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tpms ducks unlimited Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 9 01-05-2010 04:45 PM
Tpms NHWK05 Grand Cherokee - WK 26 12-15-2009 04:58 PM
Tpms 08Hemi Grand Cherokee - WK 3 07-29-2009 07:03 PM
TPMS sensors Bslagle05 Visual Modifications 1 06-16-2009 06:23 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community