Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Wrangler-YJ, TJ & JK

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-03-2012, 05:06 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Jimmy C. is on a distinguished road
No VIN number For GPs

Hi All: I have a 2012 Wrangler with a 730n (RHR) media center. My problem started when I got the 2013 North American Navigation Map Update from Chrysler Jeep. I followed the directions that came with the upgrade but when I got to installing the Navigation upgrade I was asked for the activation key ( which I got by going to the website that came with the software packet.) But when I hit the OK soft key I got an error window stating wrong activation code number.
I tried a few more times carefully typing the activation code with no success . Sooooo I called the software manufacture, they told me to fire up my GPS, hit the menu hard key and then hit database info soft key, that brought me to the Current database version which is N 1108 4.2.1 The line below this IS THE PROBLEM, "Your vehicles VIN": is blank no vin number. It was supposed to be installed at the factory but no. This is why I get the wrong activation code number when I try to install the new map software.
Has anyone had or ever heard of this problem? Thanks for your time
Jimmy C.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2012, 06:12 PM
SnoFire's Avatar
The Negotiator
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 4,908
Thanks: 55
Thanked 139 Times in 117 Posts
Rep Power: 390164
SnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: No VIN number For GPs

Welcome to JeepGarage. You would be best to look in the Wrangler-JK section of the Forums to see if anyone else has had this issue. Good Luck!
__________________

__________________
2014 GC Limited V6 LuxII/Tow/RA4 Max Steel/Blk Michelin LTX M/S2

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2012, 06:25 PM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,539
Thanks: 36
Thanked 2,305 Times in 963 Posts
Rep Power: 2392929
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: No VIN number For GPs

Are you the original owner of the Jeep, and was the radio factory installed? The radio should automatically read the vehicle VIN number.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2012, 01:35 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Jimmy C. is on a distinguished road
Re: No VIN number For GPs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milous View Post
Are you the original owner of the Jeep, and was the radio factory installed? The radio should automatically read the vehicle VIN number.
I ordered the Jeep the way I wanted and it came from the factory with the 730n. The dealer I bought it from said they have never heard of this problem before but will start digging for an answer. Thanks for the reply
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2012, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 749
TechGuy is on a distinguished road
Re: No VIN number For GPs

I also got the radio and map update discs for my 2012 GC with the 730N RHR media center and I have the same problem. The NAVTEQ software people (Malcolm) told me to check for the VIN and it was not there!! I was surprised when my dealer's service department knew nothing about the update mail out or the missing VIN in the radio. They also said that they would check and get back to me.

Not one to wait around, I called Jeep direct and they said that they NEVER heard of this issue until I called. (Yeah right!) They transferred me to their tech person, Stacy, who also knew nothing about this. (Not a surprise.) She promised to check and get back to me in 15 or 20 minutes. Unfortunately she never called back!! Not a great customer service.

Does anyone know how to enter the VIN into this radio?? I would love to just enter it and stop wasting time waiting to hear more excuses from those who should know but do not --- dealers and manufacturers.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2012, 11:34 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Jimmy C. is on a distinguished road
Re: No VIN number For GPs

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGuy View Post
I also got the radio and map update discs for my 2012 GC with the 730N RHR media center and I have the same problem. The NAVTEQ software people (Malcolm) told me to check for the VIN and it was not there!! I was surprised when my dealer's service department knew nothing about the update mail out or the missing VIN in the radio. They also said that they would check and get back to me.

Not one to wait around, I called Jeep direct and they said that they NEVER heard of this issue until I called. (Yeah right!) They transferred me to their tech person, Stacy, who also knew nothing about this. (Not a surprise.) She promised to check and get back to me in 15 or 20 minutes. Unfortunately she never called back!! Not a great customer service.

Does anyone know how to enter the VIN into this radio?? I would love to just enter it and stop wasting time waiting to hear more excuses from those who should know but do not --- dealers and manufacturers.
I got my vin # to show by turning the ignition to the on position not on the accessory position, the second click. The radio update went fine with the ignition on accessory but try the whole update in the "ON" position. Let me know if this worked for you. Yes I got the software to properly install and its all about the ignition being in the ON/RUN position. Turn the ignition to the ON/RUN position go to your GPS hit the MENU hard key then database info soft key. Is your vin there? Jimmy C.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2012, 04:15 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Mondis is on a distinguished road
Re: No VIN number For GPs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy C. View Post
I got my vin # to show by turning the ignition to the on position not on the accessory position, the second click. The radio update went fine with the ignition on accessory but try the whole update in the "ON" position. Let me know if this worked for you. Yes I got the software to properly install and its all about the ignition being in the ON/RUN position. Turn the ignition to the ON/RUN position go to your GPS hit the MENU hard key then database info soft key. Is your vin there? Jimmy C.
Thank you guys so much for posting this! I just got the update and everything went smooth until I had to do the Nav database update. I found I had to turn the jeep on enter the key, and start the process then I could turn it of but leave it with the ignition activated since I have the push button ignition. It's all updated now! Stupid directions from the nav company where wrong!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2012, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 749
TechGuy is on a distinguished road
Re: No VIN number For GPs

Thank you Jimmy, it did work!! Why the NAVTEQ people did not know how to do this is a mystery. In any case, I am now updated -- thanks.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jeep VIN Number Locations - HELP! Possible Car Fraud Victim! WildVisionsWK Grand Cherokee - WK 14 07-25-2012 11:01 PM
E Number or Von Number outback Export Grand Cherokee 2011+ 2 10-19-2011 08:20 AM
How Long Did It Take Your Order To Be Assigned A VIN Number HD Guy Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 3 10-12-2011 09:00 PM
How long before I get a VIN number? bosca418 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 5 02-05-2011 01:52 PM
Got VIN number assigned. Frank TJ Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 1 10-29-2010 03:13 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.