Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ? - Page 5 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #49  
Old 02-23-2015, 11:37 PM
DarkHue's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 528
Thanks: 19
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 2145
DarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

Ok just wanted to update you with what was happening for the past few weeks.

I ordered the remote start key part #82214097 from the MOPAR site and got it delivered last week. To my surprise, it came WITHOUT the trunk button. So I contacted Chrysler in Manhattan along with my VIN number and they told me that it won't be compatible (programmable) with my export car, not even any type of different kit. So they told me to send the package back to issue a full refund.


This is very unfortunate news, I really wanted remote start WITH trunk button as it should have been, and I'm equally surprised that they have some False advertisement on MOPAR's site, as the picture indicates a fob with all buttons available.


I guess it's either trunk or remote start, it's stupid that I can't have both.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #50  
Old 02-24-2015, 01:41 AM
DCRSRT's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hills District, Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 750
Thanked 158 Times in 122 Posts
Rep Power: 3516
DCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

What did they say when you told them the image shows a 4 button remote?


My kit has arrived in Aus, but wont get it till tomorrow or so.
__________________
MY14 Deep Cherry Red JGC SRT. Injen CAI. GT Haus Meisterschaft cat back. CLStech headlight ribbon mod. DBA T3 5000 rotors.
X-Lume Color Shift illuminated grille badge. X-Lume illuminated tow hitch cover badge. 22x10 Octane OC500 wheels.


Join us on Facebook:
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 02-24-2015, 01:58 AM
DarkHue's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 528
Thanks: 19
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 2145
DarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCRSRT View Post
What did they say when you told them the image shows a 4 button remote?


My kit has arrived in Aus, but wont get it till tomorrow or so.
I haven't confronted them with that yet, my current request is regarding any other remote start part that has the trunk button compatible with my VIN. If their reply is none, then I'll start asking these questions.





*EDIT*

Actually, just checked my email history and that was the first thing I asked. I mentioned my disappointment that the image has all buttons and I got the one without the trunk button. In their reply, they said I ordered the wrong part, and hence will send me a new one (before sending them my VIN and realizing they can't even send another part because it won't be compatible).

I need to bring it up again in my next email.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-24-2015, 07:42 PM
DCRSRT's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hills District, Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 750
Thanked 158 Times in 122 Posts
Rep Power: 3516
DCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

The plot thickens. Got my kit today and it too only has three buttons, no boot release. When I asked the dealer to confirm it had four buttons im thinking he included the panic button!
__________________
MY14 Deep Cherry Red JGC SRT. Injen CAI. GT Haus Meisterschaft cat back. CLStech headlight ribbon mod. DBA T3 5000 rotors.
X-Lume Color Shift illuminated grille badge. X-Lume illuminated tow hitch cover badge. 22x10 Octane OC500 wheels.


Join us on Facebook:
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02-25-2015, 04:54 AM
DarkHue's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 528
Thanks: 19
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 2145
DarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCRSRT View Post
The plot thickens. Got my kit today and it too only has three buttons, no boot release. When I asked the dealer to confirm it had four buttons im thinking he included the panic button!
So it is exactly as the Kit I received then right ?


I received this reply from Jeep, which is not a very efficient option :

Quote:
The only option you have is to purchase a remote start system manufactured for your export vehicle. You would then have to purchase 2 individual key remotes that have the remote start button and the power lift gate button.
They would then have to be programmed to the vehicle.
Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02-25-2015, 05:17 AM
DCRSRT's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hills District, Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 750
Thanked 158 Times in 122 Posts
Rep Power: 3516
DCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

What about the image shown with the part number we both bought? It's blatant false advertising.
__________________
MY14 Deep Cherry Red JGC SRT. Injen CAI. GT Haus Meisterschaft cat back. CLStech headlight ribbon mod. DBA T3 5000 rotors.
X-Lume Color Shift illuminated grille badge. X-Lume illuminated tow hitch cover badge. 22x10 Octane OC500 wheels.


Join us on Facebook:
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 02-25-2015, 05:19 AM
DCRSRT's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hills District, Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 750
Thanked 158 Times in 122 Posts
Rep Power: 3516
DCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

I asked the guy I bought it off to check with Mopar. Lets see what he comes back with.
__________________
MY14 Deep Cherry Red JGC SRT. Injen CAI. GT Haus Meisterschaft cat back. CLStech headlight ribbon mod. DBA T3 5000 rotors.
X-Lume Color Shift illuminated grille badge. X-Lume illuminated tow hitch cover badge. 22x10 Octane OC500 wheels.


Join us on Facebook:
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 02-25-2015, 05:33 AM
DarkHue's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 528
Thanks: 19
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 2145
DarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCRSRT View Post
What about the image shown with the part number we both bought? It's blatant false advertising.
I know right ?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCRSRT View Post
I asked the guy I bought it off to check with Mopar. Lets see what he comes back with.
I hope you get a different answer than mine ... Because carrying 4 fobs is not a viable option no matter how you see it.

Maybe we are better off just sacrificing the trunk button and installing remote start instead, seems like there is no option for our export vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 02-26-2015, 01:52 AM
DCRSRT's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hills District, Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 750
Thanked 158 Times in 122 Posts
Rep Power: 3516
DCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond reputeDCRSRT has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkHue View Post
Maybe we are better off just sacrificing the trunk button and installing remote start instead, seems like there is no option for our export vehicles.
I wonder if we can transfer our trunk buttons onto the new remotes?


Dealer guy hasn't answered me yet
__________________
MY14 Deep Cherry Red JGC SRT. Injen CAI. GT Haus Meisterschaft cat back. CLStech headlight ribbon mod. DBA T3 5000 rotors.
X-Lume Color Shift illuminated grille badge. X-Lume illuminated tow hitch cover badge. 22x10 Octane OC500 wheels.


Join us on Facebook:
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 02-26-2015, 03:39 AM
DarkHue's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 528
Thanks: 19
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 2145
DarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCRSRT View Post
I wonder if we can transfer our trunk buttons onto the new remotes?


Dealer guy hasn't answered me yet
I really doubt you can do that, I assume that each fob is programmed for a specific frequency to the processor attached in the vehicle, and each fob is programmed for a different frequency which explains why they mentioned programming two separate fobs. OR, you can actually program the fob and move the button later, ah who knows. Maybe a jeep specialist such as Milous can shed some light here.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 02-26-2015, 09:05 AM
67HR's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Albany Western Australia
Posts: 304
Thanks: 131
Thanked 39 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 1075
67HR is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkHue View Post
I really doubt you can do that, I assume that each fob is programmed for a specific frequency to the processor attached in the vehicle, and each fob is programmed for a different frequency which explains why they mentioned programming two separate fobs. OR, you can actually program the fob and move the button later, ah who knows. Maybe a jeep specialist such as Milous can shed some light here.
The fobs these days contain not just a carbon transponder chip but an IC that is multi-functional. Obviously like keyless entry, tail gate lift, engine start and immobiliser.

They WK2 GC ones are what the industry call a PCF7953 chip set; see link

http://www.nxp.com/documents/leaflet/75017275.pdf

The one for my Laredo like most in Aust are running on 434mhz for the remote entry but the immo part is 125khz
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0586.jpg (68.6 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 02-28-2015, 05:05 AM
DarkHue's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 528
Thanks: 19
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 2145
DarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond reputeDarkHue has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Remote start but sacrificing the trunk button ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCRSRT View Post
I wonder if we can transfer our trunk buttons onto the new remotes?


Dealer guy hasn't answered me yet
Any updates ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 67HR View Post
The fobs these days contain not just a carbon transponder chip but an IC that is multi-functional. Obviously like keyless entry, tail gate lift, engine start and immobiliser.

They WK2 GC ones are what the industry call a PCF7953 chip set; see link

http://www.nxp.com/documents/leaflet/75017275.pdf

The one for my Laredo like most in Aust are running on 434mhz for the remote entry but the immo part is 125khz
Thanks for the link !! Well can the IC be programmed to transit/receive both the power boot and remote start functions ? If that is the case then I don't get why export vehicles can't have all keys in one fob. It mentions that "21 I/O ports, including 8 wake-up/button inputs" so it should be able to accept one or two extra I/O functions, but it might be limited by the "3 channel active LF interface for 125 kHz", maybe this is why it can't have more than 3 buttons. Is this specification for export or US based vehicles ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote start - that remote has some RANGE!! racer-xerols 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0 9 03-06-2014 08:38 AM
Adding OEM Remote Start after Purchase jdwarne Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 21 11-12-2013 11:02 AM
Push button start/remote Gman Tech Tips/DIY/How To 6 07-23-2013 04:09 PM
adding remote start questions gc4x4 Interior/Exterior/Visual 11 07-23-2012 12:11 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.