Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f196/)
-   -   changed spark plugs (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f196/changed-spark-plugs-11168.html)

thegoat78 07-18-2010 06:28 PM

changed spark plugs
 
hey guys,
so i changed my spark plugs today, and i also cleaned my throttle body, which was really clean. and i took out my iac motor, and sprayed it out, being careful that i didn't get any cleaner into the actual motor piece, but now when i start the jeep the idle goes up like normal but then drops, almost stalls and then it will idle normally.... don't know what happened ....
thanks
Bill

Frango100 07-18-2010 06:56 PM

Re: changed spark plugs
 
Did you remove the throttle body for the cleaning? It can be that it is not installed right, with some airleak somewhere. Or any of the vacuum hoses loose?
The IAC stepper motor is installed right? If all ok you could try to disconnect the battery for a minute or so. When you reconnect it again, the IAC stepper motor will be driven to both end stops for the PCM to recognize these positions. Maybe this helps.

Frango100 07-18-2010 06:57 PM

Re: changed spark plugs
 
Oh, and by the way, you did install the right spark plugs for the HO engine, didn't you?

thegoat78 07-18-2010 07:19 PM

Re: changed spark plugs
 
yeah i put the champion 3340's . I tell you the one on the left rear of the engine was a P.I.A to change. I did not remove the Throttle Body to clean it. like an idiot i forgot to plug in one of the connectors on the coil, and it was running crappy, check engine light was on ... i was like WTF, and then i realized it. i have a mac scanner from my car audio/any thing 12v days, cleared it and all it good, a little embarrassing though ... LOL
I guess i will have to dissconnect the batt for a few minutes, just sucks to have to reprogram all my stereo settings. :mad:

jeeppro 07-18-2010 08:43 PM

Re: changed spark plugs
 
throttle body sensor

Chaoul1 07-18-2010 10:34 PM

Re: changed spark plugs
 
I hope you Gapped them correctly and made sure that you didn't bump the Ground ontop of the Anode. That could make it stall.

Frango100 07-19-2010 04:27 PM

Re: changed spark plugs
 
Ah well, nobody is perfect and its good to hear that it is running ok now. In this case you donīt have to disconnect the battery. The PCM still has the previous IAC stepper motor settings in its memory. Its using this settings to put the IAC stepper motor in a certain position when starting the engine, depending on several other inputs.

thegoat78 07-20-2010 08:47 PM

Re: changed spark plugs
 
Its ALL GOOD now :) , everything is cool..... :thumbsup:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community