Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Hid canbus pro (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/hid-canbus-pro-11578.html)

jugganator 08-02-2010 08:09 AM

Hid canbus pro
 
So as I have nothing to do for the next hour at work, I decided to order some 6000k HIDS, these will arrive tomorrow, and will fit them after work. This will be my first mod.

Now your probably wondering, why the f*ck do we want to know about his life.............

But the HIDS that I have ordered run at 35w and have two very slim line ballast. The really interesting part is that I will not need a relay, both of the ballasts have built in technology to "fool" the canbus \ ECU of the car. This stops the strobing, or not working aspect.

Anyone else used these yet? They are at http://www.hids-direct.co.uk/hid-conversion-kits-slim-35w/h1h3h7h1190059006-hid-kits/single-beam-canbus-pro-hid-conversion-kit-p-453.html

Will let you guys know tomorrow evening how it goes, I am totally excited man!

Mike_Levy 08-02-2010 09:17 AM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
I'd use a relay harness anyway. Otherwise you're pulling power through the super thin factory wiring and limiting your output. The relay harnesses use bigger wires too and pull directly from the battery to make sure the lights get enough juice to maximize their performance.

B.P.O.D 08-02-2010 01:05 PM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
def use a relay for low beams!

White Chocolate 08-02-2010 05:08 PM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
use a relay...you will have problems if u dont

jugganator 08-03-2010 02:30 PM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
First problem, they have not arrived yet. So i will have to chase them tomorrow. Wonder if i can get them to throw in the relays as they didnt deliver today.

Also ordered LED side lights.

White Chocolate 08-03-2010 05:37 PM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
Almost everyone I know on this site needed to have relays on their low beams so their HID's work correctly, to tell you the truth I dont know of a single person who is able to not use relays. I could be wrong though.

Relays are cheap, give em a call and ask or call xenondepot

Scottina06 08-03-2010 06:38 PM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
the canbus isnt the problem with the Jeeps...right? its the high draw through the stock wiring. IMO...you will still need a relay

misfit77 08-03-2010 11:25 PM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
The problem is not current draw. I have 50watt HID in my High beams that start with 8amps then come down to a 5amp draw each. 12VX5amps=60watts (96watts ignition)...so its not 100% efficient. Its near 83%.

Under the same scenario 35w bulbs would pull 42watts once ignited.

I would attempt to use these without a relay...if i could. Too bad the Jeep wont work right. I had to use a 20 amp relay.


As for CANBUS. People get an error because the computer thinks there is a light is burned out since the resistance is different than an incandescent bulb.
From what I am reading, people can run HID in canbus cars but they get an error message. So this not the same thing we Jeepers are getting.

tidbit:2010 Nissan Titans do not get canbus errors nor do they need relays.
I hate my jeep just a little more now.

Scottina06 08-03-2010 11:35 PM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
the relay isnt a big deal, its easy to install, cheap...and a good insurance policy besides keeping the lamps from flickering

jugganator 08-04-2010 05:49 AM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by misfit77 (Post 246904)
The problem is not current draw. I have 50watt HID in my High beams that start with 8amps then come down to a 5amp draw each. 12VX5amps=60watts (96watts ignition)...so its not 100% efficient. Its near 83%.

Under the same scenario 35w bulbs would pull 42watts once ignited.

I would attempt to use these without a relay...if i could. Too bad the Jeep wont work right. I had to use a 20 amp relay.


As for CANBUS. People get an error because the computer thinks there is a light is burned out since the resistance is different than an incandescent bulb.
From what I am reading, people can run HID in canbus cars but they get an error message. So this not the same thing we Jeepers are getting.

tidbit:2010 Nissan Titans do not get canbus errors nor do they need relays.
I hate my jeep just a little more now.

This HID system with CANBUS Pro is supposed to stop the cars computer from thinking there is a fault with the lights.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scottina06 (Post 246911)
the relay isnt a big deal, its easy to install, cheap...and a good insurance policy besides keeping the lamps from flickering

If it dont work I will order two relays next week. They are shipping the bulbs today, some kind of mix up. Wont be putting them in until I come back from vacation now. :(

Scottina06 08-04-2010 06:06 AM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
^^^^but the Jeep doesnt have the canbus problem

White Chocolate 08-04-2010 08:22 AM

Re: Hid canbus pro
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jugganator (Post 246970)
This HID system with CANBUS Pro is supposed to stop the cars computer from thinking there is a fault with the lights.



If it dont work I will order two relays next week. They are shipping the bulbs today, some kind of mix up. Wont be putting them in until I come back from vacation now. :(

It won't work without a relay man. Trust us. Canibus has NOTHING to do with the issue.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community