Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   NEED some VIPER help! (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/need-some-viper-help-12366.html)

soontobesrt 08-28-2010 09:55 PM

NEED some VIPER help!
 
Hey guys, Im having an issue with my Viper 5901 system. I had it installed about 6-8 months ago (not sure of exact date) by a supposed "authorized dealer" but the business has had owner issues (went to jail lmao, silly right) so I AM NOT going to go back to that place for those reasons plus the work they do I have found to be sub par.

ANYWAY, my remote does not seem to work from time to time with my system AT ALL. Wont unlock doors, wont remote start. Then if I hit the factory unlock (which still works) the Viper remote will begin to work. Occasionally the system works flawlessly though so its really odd. I have never used the back remote and my factory door locks are controllable w. the factory setup so I can always use that.

Sometimes the remote start will start and shut off immediately and the remote wont be able to connect to the system so I have to use the factory fob to go in, then the systems alarm will go off (since the door was opened and its armed) then I have to put the key in and the viper remote will work w. the system so I then unlock and disarm the system. ITS ALL A COMPLETE CLUSTER-PHUCK and I paid good money for the system (which did work GREAT for awhile) but I know it should last much longer than 6 or 8 months lol.

ANYONE out there certified to work on these or have knowledge f the Viper stuff? Im not ready to take it to another shop to look at because I KNOW they don't work on these complicated Jeep CANBUS electrical systems for cheap so I wanted to see who could help on here. Any input/suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance - Anthony


edit: other symptoms are all the dash lights will flash on and off and the tach as well as other gauges will go back and forth w/ the lights, outside lights seem fine and its only on the dash, happen twice recently and I had to pull over and shut her down and restart and it went away. Its all so puzzling. I HATE electronics :( Love em at the same time :)

robpp 08-28-2010 10:18 PM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
stugots HAS or HAD that same one on his 06.......

soontobesrt 08-28-2010 10:21 PM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by robpp (Post 260649)
stugots HAS or HAD that same one on his 06.......

I may pm him Rob, thanks for the info, again - bump for any and all Viper guys on here, I know I talked to a few guys who knew stuff about them, just dont remember who :confused:

soontobesrt 08-29-2010 10:52 AM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
BUMP - Anyone know anything about the Viper 5901? Need a diagnosis or something, need some info at my side before I go in anywhere to talk to a shop! Thanks

06RC22 08-29-2010 01:20 PM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
I have the 5901 on mine but I have never had any of those problems before. I wish I could help you but I have no idea. Maybe one of the modules is going bad or needs to be reprogramed... honestly i have no idea.

soontobesrt 08-29-2010 07:16 PM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 06RC22 (Post 260839)
I have the 5901 on mine but I have never had any of those problems before. I wish I could help you but I have no idea. Maybe one of the modules is going bad or needs to be reprogramed... honestly i have no idea.

Yeah me neither, the system just isn't communicating w/ the remote sometimes and then it freaks out sometimes its so weird. I think it has to do with subpar install :mad: and possilby the trcik can bus system, hope nothing is going bad.

I see online all this stuff about bit-writer and modules so you dont need to use a valet key but I already used one and have it in the module somewhere under my dash . I want to get it out and use a module hopefully, ughhhh I hate stuff like this, way over my head and I can't doing anything about it, just dont have the knowledge or guts to even try to mess w/ it. Not trying to set fire to the whip or fry my entire electronics system :eek:

06RC22 08-29-2010 09:26 PM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
I don't have to use a valet key with mine. I still have my factory key and my spare key. I don't know how they did it but I didn't lose a key with my install. I really hope you can get it figured out. If it were me, I'd take it to a different place and pay a few bucks to have them look at the install. I mean after all the cash, and time you have in your whip, you don't want something to happen. It would be worth it

mrjaydeeone 08-29-2010 09:44 PM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
I have a 5901 in my WJ. Had it installed a few months ago and haven't had any problems. Wish I had some answers for ya. My friend used a module to install it and I have both keys still, none stuck in jeep anywhere. As far as the bitwriting goes that was used in the install to set all the options I wanted for the alarm without having to sit there and watch the led flash to see what menu the alarm was in

soontobesrt 08-29-2010 10:27 PM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrjaydeeone (Post 261045)
I have a 5901 in my WJ. Had it installed a few months ago and haven't had any problems. Wish I had some answers for ya. My friend used a module to install it and I have both keys still, none stuck in jeep anywhere. As far as the bitwriting goes that was used in the install to set all the options I wanted for the alarm without having to sit there and watch the led flash to see what menu the alarm was in

yea i think im going to eventually end up going to a new place to have it looked at and then see if they can get valet that key out, you guys are saying it can be done, well at least RC did it on a wK right? I just need to see whats actually "possible" so when guys sya no you need the key i can be like no, see here haha. I guess doing it once is never enough, time to go blow more coin and get it done PROPERLY! :mad: My fault though, should have researched the business a little better, they just had a good deal going on new 5901s installed supposedly with lifetime coverage so maybe ill have them try to "diagnose" it first and then see :rolleyes:

WHAT I NEED FROM YOU GUYS:

Can you list modules or part #s or talk to whomever did the work for you to see about what I need and a brief overview of how it works and what it does like these modules and bitwriters. I want to go to the guy and be like no I dont need the valet key I need this module and then ill take it to him and see abouttinstall etc. So anyone w/ knowledge, list away if you know what you got for install! Thanks, it would be much appreciated :D

mrjaydeeone 08-29-2010 11:17 PM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
I will shoot my friend a message and see what he says. I see you are located in NJ also, my friend works in Toms River, I dunno where that is in relation to you. I have had him do work for me before, and he does a great job.

05wkguy 08-30-2010 12:18 AM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
I sell the Viper systems, but unfortunately I'm quite a distance away so all i can offer you is advice, lol.

Viper did have software issues with the first few batches of 5901's produced but they were all recalled and supposedly have been fixed. This was about 18 months ago. It's possible though that you got a system that was overlooked or simply not sent back. I say this because it sounds like the place that sold it to you may not have been "on the ball",lol. That would explain the issue with it not communicating with the vehicle periodically.

The other problems sound like they stem from bad installation. They must have used a "universal transponder bypass box" which places one of your keys inside and re-transmits the transponder code from it, to the ignition barrel via a wire and loop. The placement of the loop is critical for reliable starting of the vehicle, and clearly that's not happening. The dash light issue is probably due to a bad connection from the starter to the data wire that controls alot of the vehicle functions. If there's any problems with resistance or voltage fluctuation on it, you'll experience issues exactly like what you describe.

If you go to another shop i'd recommend you just have them redo the entire installation. Also there are a few companies that make interface modules that will work great with the canbus system, we use IDATALINK almost exclusively. It uses data communication directly to the computer to do the transponder bypass. You'll get your spare key back and better, more reliable functionality of the system.

Good luck

JETLIFE 08-30-2010 11:00 AM

Re: NEED some VIPER help!
 
I had the same problem, Set it to double pulse and everything is fine. What I mean by double pulse is that every time you hit a button it sends the signal twice.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community