Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Tech Tips/DIY/How To (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f156/)
-   -   "Break In" Period (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f156/break-in-period-12406.html)

madden0010 08-30-2010 09:19 AM

"Break In" Period

Hey everyone, new to the forum...bought my WK2 about a month ago and picking it up today (hopefully, waiting for that call from the dealer) 3.6L Dark Charcoal Laredo X with Pano Sunroof.

I'm sure this will have people on both sides of the discussion but how does everyone feel about "Break In" periods, and more specifically for the WK2. I've heard several arguments on both sides saying drive it hard from the start it doesn't matter or give it 3-5000 miles to "Break In".

Being an engineer myself I can understand somewhat of a "break in" period to get fluids/grease distributed well, let components thermal cycle a few times, etc... but I can't see that taking 5000 miles, all of these things seem like they would balance out in the first couple days of driving.

Thoughts??

darkrt 08-30-2010 09:32 AM

Re: "Break In" Period

Congrats on the new ride. Break in period should be in the owners manual. I believe its go easy for the first 500 mi.

madden0010 08-30-2010 10:24 AM

Thanks, it's been delayed over a month now so I'm ready to finally get my hands on it...

500 sounds much more reasonable, I will look at the manual and see what it says. Thanks for the tip-

Jim Hef 08-30-2010 10:26 AM

Being "old school", I would stick to the old ways, and run easy for the first 1k. Change oil and filter, and then do what you want with it. Here's the Owner's manual version: