Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Does a occupant restraint controller need to be replaced ? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/does-a-occupant-restraint-controller-need-to-be-replaced-13359.html)

Shadohc 09-28-2010 11:11 AM

Does a occupant restraint controller need to be replaced ?
 
My air baglight has been on for some time now and i am getting a code U0172. I just replaced the front crash sensor and it is still on. Does the occupant restraint controller need to be replaced when it is involved in a accident ?

robpp 09-28-2010 01:21 PM

Re: Does a occupant restraint controller need to be replaced ?
 
I THINK there is a reset that may be needed VIA the dealer tools.

but not sure.

Shadohc 09-28-2010 03:47 PM

Re: Does a occupant restraint controller need to be replaced ?
 
I just got off the phone with my local dealer and they said that if the air bag went off in a accident and set the light. You have to replace the occupant restraint controller it can not be reset.

Asativa 09-28-2010 04:09 PM

Re: Does a occupant restraint controller need to be replaced ?
 
Hey bro did u check all the wiring like we talked about? Stop bye the shop sometime and ill see if i can clear the code with my scanner. Too bad just putting in a new sensor didnt work
andy

robpp 09-28-2010 04:27 PM

Re: Does a occupant restraint controller need to be replaced ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Shadohc (Post 276085)
I just got off the phone with my local dealer and they said that if the air bag went off in a accident and set the light. You have to replace the occupant restraint controller it can not be reset.



anyone in the body shop collision business. they could answer this in a second :thumbsup: ??

Shadohc 09-28-2010 04:59 PM

Re: Does a occupant restraint controller need to be replaced ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Asativa (Post 276098)
Hey bro did u check all the wiring like we talked about? Stop bye the shop sometime and ill see if i can clear the code with my scanner. Too bad just putting in a new sensor didnt work
andy

I did go over the wiring and it did check out and said replace sensor and i did that and it is still there so i am going to replace the occupant restraint controller

Shadohc 09-28-2010 05:00 PM

Re: Does a occupant restraint controller need to be replaced ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by robpp (Post 276110)
anyone in the body shop collision business. they could answer this in a second :thumbsup: ??


That was who i called first at the dealer and I explained my problem and they transfered me to service but i might try a non dealer body shop and see what they say


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community