Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Suspension/Driveline/Brakes (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f143/)
-   -   Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!! (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f143/installed-new-paramount-dominator-converter-13514.html)

Harrison@Stage6 10-02-2010 11:46 AM

Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
Holy SHIT does this thing launch like a freaking champ now!! Converter will flash at about 4300-4500 and it's just GONE outta the hole. Very little wheel spin. With the stock converter it would dead hook and flash to 3200-3400 or so. I have a feeling at a well prepped track, I'll be dead hooking. The new MOPAR TCM and Dominator are great for each other too. In D I'm shifting all gears right at 6400 RPMs. I can't wait to hit the track next Friday night!!!

robpp 10-02-2010 06:58 PM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
Dang Harrison......6400 each one.....

Sorry I am DUMB but help me with understanding what your post means......

converter will flash to 4300.....does that mean you can rev it to 4300 and launch????

thx
rob

Harrison@Stage6 10-03-2010 09:58 AM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
It means it revs to 4300rpms then it launches. It used to launch at 3300 with the stock converter. It means it launches higher in the torque curve helping you rocket out of the hole! :)

With the truck in Drive, it now shifts at 6400rpms from 1-2, 2-3, 3-4. That means again it's higer up in the engines power curve and when it shifts it's still higher in the power curve than previously. Hopefully all of it means I just cut .2 off my 1/4 times. We will find out in 5 days. :)

robpp 10-03-2010 12:22 PM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
ok i got it. thats what I thought but thanks for 'splaining.

the 6400 I understand.

i went for a launch with Wink in a 2010 SRT8 Vorteched. All his trans stuff is stock. Johan has done the tuning. I didnt look at the tach but that f'er slammed you back in the seat thru the shift to third. he pretty much had to let off about 90.

he just did a little stall, prolly 2000 maybe a bit higher.

QBNKID 10-03-2010 01:26 PM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
Harrison, I wouldn't be surprised if you hit 11s soon bro. Maybe at Atco...?
BTW, how much one of these Dominators set you back?

Harrison@Stage6 10-03-2010 01:32 PM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
The Dominator is $879 IIRC. I'm hoping to see 11's at Atco. That's my goal. I have one more trick up my sleeve that I'm not going to release until Atco. It's almost done and ready to be installed. :)

Grip Grip 10-03-2010 05:58 PM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
I can't wait for you to break the 6.1 NA record, Harrison. :)

1BAMFR 10-03-2010 06:28 PM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
So, when you launch your Jeep you brake stall to 4500 and let it rip? I don't understand the "flash" part...

What are you exactly doing inside the cabin when you launch?

Did it effect DD'ing???

1BAMFR 10-03-2010 06:30 PM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Grip Grip (Post 278662)
I can't wait for you to break the 6.1 NA record, Harrison. :)

Me too Grip! I want to witness it live at Atco....if he runs an 11.8x...we should have the Gatorade jug ready.

Harrison@Stage6 10-03-2010 07:20 PM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Grip Grip (Post 278662)
I can't wait for you to break the 6.1 NA record, Harrison. :)

That's a little far fetched but..... I'm gonna try. :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1BAMFR (Post 278679)
So, when you launch your Jeep you brake stall to 4500 and let it rip? I don't understand the "flash" part...

What are you exactly doing inside the cabin when you launch?

Did it effect DD'ing???

When I launch it, my datalogs too, I leave at idle. Just flat nail it. It'll rev up to 44-4500 then grab and all Holy Hell is breakin' loose!! Just a nice mild chirp and she's gone! I haven't played with brake stalling it yet. Gonna wait for the track to see what happens. I know Luis just flat punches it and he cuts low 1.5's.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1BAMFR (Post 278682)
Me too Grip! I want to witness it live at Atco....if he runs an 11.8x...we should have the Gatorade jug ready.

Hahaha.... you'll see me break the 6.1L NA Cam only record. 11.91 is tough to beat but I sure am gonna try.

1BAMFR 10-03-2010 07:25 PM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
Gotcha, I'm getting one installed soon along with a flex plate.

Can't wait for Atco to see you HB

SRTILL8 10-04-2010 07:56 AM

Re: Installed new Paramount Dominator Converter!!
 
sounds intriguing


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community