Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f200/)
-   -   Factory Amp (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f200/factory-amp-14390.html)

spartan18 10-25-2010 07:11 PM

Factory Amp
 
Hello, I'm just wondering if anybody knows if there is a factory amp bypass harness made for 2001 Grand Cherokees. I installed an aftermarket deck a while ago, four brand new sony GTX speakers yesterday, and just recently realized that my deck is able to output more power than the factory amp, so I am looking to bypass it. However, I'm not sure if I want to splice the cables (just in case something goes wrong and I want to go back to the amp), so I'm looking for a bypass harness, and figured this would be a good place to look.

4x4Street 10-25-2010 08:18 PM

Re: Factory Amp
 
This site may have just what you need.

http://www.autotoys.com/x/catalog/JE...IT_p_1480.html

spartan18 10-25-2010 10:56 PM

Re: Factory Amp
 
I might be wrong, but I think that's for if I was going to use an aftermarket head unit with factory speakers. I'm looking for something that takes the inputs to the amp and hooks them up to the outputs of the amp, without splicing, so that I have my head unit hooked up directly to the new speakers, without going through the (relatively) weak Infinity amp.

kevinswj 10-27-2010 12:04 PM

Re: Factory Amp
 
I would just go to the wreckers or to someone parting out a jeep and pick up a spare harness splice and snip all you want then when you want to go back just unplug your spliced cable and connect the original and your good to go

spartan18 10-29-2010 09:52 PM

Re: Factory Amp
 
Okay, so I can't seem to find a harness that would work anywhere on the internet, so I'm just going to go ahead and splice it, but first I want to make sure it's going to be worth it. My Headunit can output 52Wx4 @ 4 ohms, so I would be losing the tweeters, but gaining power in the door speakers (I think). The factory amp is 180W but split up between 6 channels, so am I correct in thinking that by bypassing the amp I will be getting more power in the speakers?

cheapjeep 10-29-2010 10:38 PM

Re: Factory Amp
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by spartan18 (Post 292965)
Okay, so I can't seem to find a harness that would work anywhere on the internet, so I'm just going to go ahead and splice it, but first I want to make sure it's going to be worth it. My Headunit can output 52Wx4 @ 4 ohms, so I would be losing the tweeters, but gaining power in the door speakers (I think). The factory amp is 180W but split up between 6 channels, so am I correct in thinking that by bypassing the amp I will be getting more power in the speakers?

52 x4 at about 15 to 20% distortion from a head unit amp plus losing the imaging from the dash tweeters.I think you're gonna be really disappointed.The Infinity amp may have a little less power but it has a way cleaner sound.If you want to gain anything go line level from your Sony to a good name brand amp and then run speaker wire to your new speakers. I run the straight Infinity system with just a 200 watt powered 12" sub and you wouldn't believe how it sounds.

Hope this helps

spartan18 10-30-2010 03:00 AM

Re: Factory Amp
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cheapjeep (Post 292985)
52 x4 at about 15 to 20% distortion from a head unit amp plus losing the imaging from the dash tweeters.I think you're gonna be really disappointed.The Infinity amp may have a little less power but it has a way cleaner sound.If you want to gain anything go line level from your Sony to a good name brand amp and then run speaker wire to your new speakers. I run the straight Infinity system with just a 200 watt powered 12" sub and you wouldn't believe how it sounds.

Hope this helps

It does help. Thank you. However, the headunit I have (This one) has a pretty nice built in amp with a max of 5% distortion. I don't know what the distortion is like on the stock amp, but I imagine it's in the same ballpark. I figure since the distortion is probably about the same if not better with my headunit, and since my speakers match with my headunit (both Sony GT/GTX series), I would go in favor of more power. Also, I have always heard that it is best to keep your speakers matching, and since my tweeters are infinity with my door speakers Sony, I figured the sound might be able to be better distributed without the tweeters. Let me know what you think.

Milous 10-30-2010 04:11 AM

Re: Factory Amp
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by spartan18 (Post 293028)
...I figured the sound might be able to be better distributed without the tweeters. Let me know what you think.

I think you will be disappointed. The 6 speakers with Infinity amp will sound better than 4 speakers with the HU amp. Try this first - unhook your tweeters and see how it sounds with them missing. All you are going to gain with the bypass method is perhaps a little louder sound - at the expense of losing the imaging from your tweeters.

If you decide you want to try the bypass method, I would go to Radio Shack and grab some wiring ends, make and female. Make up short lengths of wire with tiny round female connectors on one end to insert into one end of the unplugged amp harness, and with "pins" on the other end to hook into the other unplugged harness. That way none of the factory wiring will have to be spliced or cut.

You could also try having the factory amp power only the tweeters, and bypass the amp for the other 4 speakers. Not sure how that would sound though.

spartan18 11-02-2010 11:41 PM

Re: Factory Amp
 
Quote:

You could also try having the factory amp power only the tweeters, and bypass the amp for the other 4 speakers. Not sure how that would sound though.
Well hypothetically wouldn't this be my best option? More power to my speakers but keep the tweeters? Oh, and I tried unplugging the tweeters. It made the system sound terrible, but I'm pretty sure that was because my stereo was still sending most of the mid-high parts of songs to the tweeters and the rear door speakers, leaving the front 6x9s for lows and some mids. They were unplugged in the dash, so it was just sending the highs and mids to nothing up front.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community