Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/cant-get-ves-to-come-up-when-i-hit-mode-for-my-ipod-14557.html)

thex2 10-30-2010 02:23 PM

Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
I just installed an ipod adapter last night, isimple's ISCH73. In the instructions, it tells me to switch to VES mode on my REC. However, I hit mode on my REC and it won't go to VES mode. I don't have the navigation manual for the REC, so I don't have any operating instructions in my owner's manual. Can somebody please help me out on how to get the REC to go to VES. Thanks.

SvenskaJeepGuy 10-30-2010 04:38 PM

Re: Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
did you unplug the unit during install?

thex2 10-30-2010 05:03 PM

Re: Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
Yes.

SvenskaJeepGuy 10-30-2010 06:04 PM

Re: Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
make sure the connector is pushed in all the way and make sure the radio was unplugged during install. thats all i can think of.

johnm524 10-30-2010 09:56 PM

Re: Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
Did you max out the volume on the ipod? That's the only way I get my iphone to play through VES.

thex2 10-31-2010 12:02 AM

Re: Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
Yes, the connectors are pushed all the way in. Yes, I unplugged the negative cable on the battery before messing with the REC. Yes, the ipod was turned up all of the way.

Am I supposed to be able to switch to VES on the REC with or without the ipod hooked up? Basically, I'm trying to determine if it's an REC problem or an ISCH73 failure.

"4. If the vehicle has BOTH factory Satellite Radio and VES, you must disconnect the VES at the overhead unit. The satellite radio will still be available for use." <--- my vehicle has both. How do I disconnect the VES at the overhead unit?

I don't have a navigation diagnostic cable... should that matter in any way at all?
http://www.wkjeeps.com/nav/Nav_rec_rear_01.jpg

philthyphil 10-31-2010 12:19 AM

Re: Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
I am pretty sure the rear screen has to be down and turned on for the VES to be activated. My radio will not switch to VES unless the rear unit is on. You may need to pull down the unit from the back to gain access to the connectors or you may be able to disconnect at the dvd player, not sure. Why not just buy an RCA to ipod cable and run it through the dvd player?

thex2 10-31-2010 12:33 AM

Re: Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
I'll try pulling the screen down and see what happens. This sounds promising. If that works, I'll have to figure out how to unplug the VES and if eBay offers enough money to make it worth my while, take it out completely and be done with it.

I didn't buy other ipod hook ups because I wanted to go through VES. I was under the impression that VES would have a higher quality feed than an FM type ipod setup. I thought I did sufficient research, but maybe not :(

philthyphil 10-31-2010 12:42 AM

Re: Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by thex2 (Post 293414)
I'll try pulling the screen down and see what happens. This sounds promising. If that works, I'll have to figure out how to unplug the VES and if eBay offers enough money to make it worth my while, take it out completely and be done with it.

I didn't buy other ipod hook ups because I wanted to go through VES. I was under the impression that VES would have a higher quality feed than an FM type ipod setup. I thought I did sufficient research, but maybe not :(

If you go through the RCA inputs on the rear dvd player you should have the exact same sound quality since you're going through VES and be able to retain your rear dvd functions. That is the route I am going with my Iphone. I think the rear dvd screens are only worth about $100 or so, thats what I've seen them going for. I thought about upgrading mine to a 2008 or 2009 rear screen since they are much larger than the 2006. If you do take yours out could you take some pics of the connectors?

thex2 10-31-2010 12:46 AM

Re: Can't get VES to come up when I hit "MODE" for my ipod
 
But if I go through the rear RCA inputs, does the screen have to be flipped down for the ipod to work? I won't mess with uninstalling the VES system for only $100.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community