Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/)
-   -   Fog lights not working....fuse?? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f181/fog-lights-not-working-fuse-15010.html)

Kaliber35 11-10-2010 05:00 PM

Fog lights not working....fuse??
 
I have a 2005 Grand Larado. The other day one of my fog lights went out. While waiting for the replacements to arrive in the mail, the other one went out. I thought nothing of it. Today, I replaced them both with the ones in the link below and neither one of them come on. All the wires look fine. The only thing I can think of is a fuse. Where is my fog light fuse? I looked under the hood and found one, but its a big black plug with 3 prongs. I dont know which one it is under the dash as they arent labeled. Please advise!

http://tiny.cc/697tz

Scottina06 11-10-2010 09:11 PM

Re: Fog lights not working....fuse??
 
thats the relay....it couldve went bad too. There is also a 20 amp fuse in the other fuse box. They are all labeled on the lids.

White Chocolate 11-10-2010 09:14 PM

Re: Fog lights not working....fuse??
 
Hey dude, before I bought my hids, I had the same issue. I kept blowing fuses like crazy and for some odd reason couldnt figure it out. I guess there is a factory harness that was shorting out said the dealership.

Could possibly be your issue? Lets use know dude!

06HemiLtd 11-11-2010 06:32 AM

Re: Fog lights not working....fuse??
 
you could put one of the new bulbs in the high beam just to make sure it's not the bulbs. one thing of caution, i've been running the same bulbs in my highs, lows, and fogs for several years now. the 65w 9005 bulb will crack your fog light lens. it get a lot hotter than the normal 9145 bulb.

Kaliber35 11-11-2010 06:00 PM

Re: Fog lights not working....fuse??
 
Thanks guys. It was a fuse. I thought it was going to be a fuse under the dash. Turns out, its was one under the hood in the black box. I was able to quickly find it (versus checking each one) because it was dark out and I shined a light right on the fuses. It made the blown on stand out.

And yes, these are quite bright. I thought they were factory. Makes me either want to change my other light to these or put factory in the fogs just to makes them all "even". :lol:

Ballinaxes 06-22-2015 12:01 PM

Re: Fog lights not working....fuse??
 
Did u replace it with another regular fuse? What size/number?? Having similar problems

jiffy247 04-10-2017 05:27 PM

Re: Fog lights not working....fuse??
 
Let me go one further here on this subject. I have a Laredo that wasnt equipped with fog lamps but do have the OEM turn switch and it looks like the OEM wires are still run. Other than the relay for the first fusebox (which is coming) what else do i need to make this work? I dont mind the aftermarket wiring but i would like to use stock if i could? thanks in advance....

carbuff 04-12-2017 02:25 AM

Re: Fog lights not working....fuse??
 
You can add the switch, the relay, fuses and the wiring is all there behind the bumper for you to just plug them into. But you will have to go to the dealer and have them program your pcm with their scan tool for them to be functional. The pcm supplies the ground at the relay to turn them on. Dealers charge a lot to do this programming. Perhaps if you have it in the dealer for something else you might get them to do it at a discounted price.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community