Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f200/)
-   -   is RB1 navigation plug and play? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f200/is-rb1-navigation-plug-and-play-15143.html)

DavidESchiller 11-15-2010 02:22 AM

is RB1 navigation plug and play?
 
I love having in-dash navigation but I like keeping the clean factory look. I have a 2002 Laredo with all options. heated leather, moon roof, etc. it has the factory 10-disc in the rear as well as the single CD/AM/FM/cassette head-unit up front. I want to know if the RB1 navigation (this: http://www.justforjeeps.com/aurarb1amnac.html) is a direct plug and play fitment because I'm on the lookout for a used or cheaper one. thanks!

straty1987 11-15-2010 06:08 PM

Re: is RB1 navigation plug and play?
 
1 Attachment(s)
yes it will just plug in and go. but there a smal chance you have a really early 02. ewaly 99-01 and some 02's have 2 7 pin port and teh RB1 has the 1 22pin port. remove your radio and see which connection it has back there. if its 1 22 pin port your good to go.

just make sure if buying used (which ebay has a deal now and then if you look) that everything works and that you get an antenna and disk. if there beating around the bush and dont answer yes or give a warranty dont bother getting it since odds are it will not work right.


i added one to my 02 limited and love it since i dose nto sticks out .i have the latest version AI with the inmotion and nag scree hack and its good.

only down side to the RB1 is no touch screen and need to get the new disk when the update is out, which can run $200 but theirs ways around that if you know were to look.

this is what it looks like in my jeep Attachment 3884

DavidESchiller 11-15-2010 07:26 PM

Re: is RB1 navigation plug and play?
 
okay, thanks. I will check that.

one more question. do I need a different bezel or will the one for my factory unit fit the RB1?

mrjaydeeone 11-15-2010 08:35 PM

Re: is RB1 navigation plug and play?
 
I believe the factory bezel will be fine.

Milous 11-15-2010 08:41 PM

Re: is RB1 navigation plug and play?
 
Installation: http://www.wjjeeps.com/nav_inst.htm

Part numbers: http://www.wjjeeps.com/nav.htm#PARTS

Try and find the newest part number from the list (like P/N 56038629AI)

SENECA 11-28-2010 10:30 AM

Re: is RB1 navigation plug and play?
 
I used the wjjeeps links to install a RB-1,10 disc changer, and steering controls in my 99 WJ. Works perfectly.

heehawbus 11-28-2010 11:52 AM

Re: is RB1 navigation plug and play?
 
yours will be a direct plug n play, 99-01 model years need to buy a stupid expensive (100) harness to make it work, i had to buy mine from a dodge dealer cause jeep didnt have them stocked. the same bezel you have now will work perfect too

svt393 12-16-2010 09:49 AM

Re: is RB1 navigation plug and play?
 
Yup i have a 99 and the RB1 Nav . I love my RB1 i also have the mopar ipod adapter and i love it .


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community