Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Tire Pressure Sensor (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/tire-pressure-sensor-15774.html)

06HemiLtd 12-01-2010 03:31 PM

Tire Pressure Sensor
 
i read through the old threads but didn't find my answer. i got the "service tire pressure monitor system" warning on the evic today and the light on the dash and the annoying ding. not the low pressure one. my driver's side front wheel isn't displaying the pressure. it's just 2 dash marks (- -). i'm sure it's the sensor. i've had the jeep 5 years today. can i use any tire shop and any brand of sensor or does it have to be a mopar replacement. it looks like the mopar one is around $70. also, does anyone know if i need the one with the nut or without. i don't care about the $2 nut but the actual sensor looks different.

SportRanger06 12-01-2010 11:02 PM

Re: Tire Pressure Sensor
 
From what I have learned the WKs use an RF based TPMS sensor. Thus you would have to get the sensor that is the correct RF frequency to work with your system. I would take the safe road and buy the Mopar one. However, if you take it to a tire shop and have them look at the sensor to see if it is a battery powered sensor, you can replace the battery in the sensor (sounds like the battery may have died and the sensor is no longer transmitting it's data) for $10 verses buying a whole new sensor.

mjl2610 12-01-2010 11:10 PM

Re: Tire Pressure Sensor
 
In my experience just find the correct TPMS for your model and year and purchase the Mopar replacement. And you are correct avg price is around 70 :thumbsup:

06HemiLtd 12-02-2010 07:32 AM

Re: Tire Pressure Sensor
 
from reading the old threads, it sounded like the battery could not be replaced. obviously i'd rather spend $10 vs. $70. can anybody confirm this.

Frankie 12-02-2010 08:53 AM

Re: Tire Pressure Sensor
 
Cant confirm it, but I think Robpp has 1 for sale! ;)

InfernoRedHemi 12-02-2010 11:13 PM

Re: Tire Pressure Sensor
 
I work for a tire store. It wouldn't hurt to take it into one and get it checked out first to see if maybe its just not syncing with your Jeep. A simple reset may fix it or it could be bad and you need to replace it but most places don't charge much or anything to get that checked. And I am almost certain without checking when I get into work tomorrow that you need the exact or nearly similar mopar one.

06HemiLtd 12-03-2010 07:09 AM

Re: Tire Pressure Sensor
 
thanks for the replies. i called my local CDJ dealer yesterday and was told the tpms sensor was $85. ouch! might get one off ebay for $25 and just have a tire shop put it in. said it would be around $35 to replace it. i'm still not certain which one i need though. looks like there are 2 different ones for the 2006.

robpp 12-03-2010 09:26 AM

Re: Tire Pressure Sensor
 
i have a 2007 one FS. but it looks like mine wont ft???

http://www.justforjeeps.com/tiprmose.html


I can get you the part number off the sensor if you KNOW the part number of yours.

also, the TPMS i hvae seen are made by Schrader. SO any aftermarket SCHRADER tht hads the correct fequency will work so aftermarket is fine. but ebay is best althugh it could be 4-5 years old ansd suseptible to fail......

06HemiLtd 12-03-2010 02:19 PM

Re: Tire Pressure Sensor
 
so i didn't drive my jeep at all yesterday. i start it up today and it's reading 29 psi for driver's front (same one that said -- on wednesday). i take off and a few min later it displays 00 psi and a second later 35 psi. i drove several miles and the pressure reading seems to be fine. do you think the battery is failing in the sensor or is it the control module.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community