Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/lockpick-v-3-intalled-w-pics-15937.html)

gsingh55 12-05-2010 09:52 PM

Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
10 Attachment(s)
Wasn't sure if this deserved another thread but I decided to go ahead and do it anyway-
I just installed the Lockpick in my Jeep and snapped a few very low quality pics on the way(sorry guess the lens was dirty) - and I'll tell you about my user errors at the end

Hope this helps any other Noobs like me -
Thanks to Whatevrworks and the few other people who had some description of how they installed the Lockpick in their Jeeps-
Also my man M.D. who helped me install it - he's a lurker on here - actually the guy who told me about the site.

Tools used-
1.5" 38mm Putty Knife - Flexible - (wrapped in 1 layer of tape to soften it a little bit- probably not needed but I did becasue I'm paranoid)
7mm Socket Wrench
an old shirt I had lying around to protect the interior from damage

Like has been stated previously I used the Putty knife on the passenger side of the trim where the wooden molding comes up against it, just under the right vent. Took a few tries to build up the nerve to do it because I was scared to damage anything. But, finally did and used the shirt against the glovebox/dashboard panel then slide the putty knife in at an angle to pop out the trim, then slowly moved my way around - not sliding all the way but once a clip popped out I removed the putty knife and repositioned it-
There are 4 clips on the top of the of the trim- two above the Radio/Nav unit, and 1 above each of the vents -
1 clip below each of the vents
and 1 more about the same position of the buttons for traction control/parking distance/heated steering wheel/tow haul

Its not letting me insert pics or I can't figure out how to insert the pics in this thread?? so I'll have them attached...(seems I can't attach them all so I inserted a few hope it helps- sorry for the low light it's dark out I used a flashlight)

Once I got the top 4 and the 1s under each vent popped off I gently/slowly pulled the trim back and the rest of the clips popped on their own-
don't pull too far as there are 2 wires attached for the climate control which need to be unhooked before pulling the trim off entirely.

Then use the 7mm socket wrench to remove the 4 screws holding in the radio then it slides right out-
attach wire harness and lockpick - I ran the wires for the lockpick behind the radio down under the frame to the opening where I put the unit.
Then before screwing everything back in and putting the trim in check to make sure it works-

the lockpick did not work for me immediately- i tried it out and didn't work so I reset the pins and then set them in the correct positions again.

all in all it was pretty simple - just like everybody sad it was-
I did not install the extra wire harness for additional video inputs yet-
EDIT:- forgot to mention the firmware on the unit I got was already the most updated so there was no need to update when installing

my user errors are as follow:
1) when I first attempted to pop out the trim I pushed the putty knife into the crack at the edge of the trim and then pushed it back towards the dash/wood trim (on top of the cloth to prevent damage) BUT I didn't realize I was bending the edge of the Dash panel up in the process -
like I said user error - I should have realized to slide it in at an angle to prevent any bending or damage- fortunately it looks like the crease is going to go away.
2) I did this on Sunday evening at 5:30-
sO when I popped the trim off and was expecting to see 4 SCREWS I had a flat head and a philips head screwdriver waiting- didn't even think it might be something else so I drove over the Home Depot with the panel off and wow was there a breeze coming through there- but Home Depot was closing so I called my man M.D. up and he was free so I took the 15 min drive up to his place and he had the tools I needed - then helped me get the wiring in the right place finish up-

moosehead 12-05-2010 09:59 PM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
you are the man. nice work +1 rep.

Curly 12-05-2010 10:43 PM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
Nice post. It's very helpful to know in advance where all the clips are located. Good job, thanks.

whatevrworks 12-05-2010 11:00 PM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
Looks good man glad it worked out for you! Try one thing for me. If you have the dip switches set for the rear camera option even if not wired up like the instructions say try hitting the power button twice very quickly while moving down the road let me know if you rear camera shows up while in drive. Mine is not wire like they instruction with an extra power wire but still functions for some reason but only when in motion. Kinda weird.

Scottina06 12-05-2010 11:37 PM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
Nice!


One question...the wood inserts on the dash......I see a bolt on the end of the wood insert. Did you pay attention to whether or not the wood would come out or how it was attached?

IndyBob 12-06-2010 04:29 AM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
Great writeup gsingh55.

I will use your tips when my Lock Pick arrives. Do you have the 430N unit? I notice on Coastal Electronics web site that it did not list the pin settings for the 430N. Did yours come with updated instructions?

Thanks again for posting.

parry69 12-06-2010 08:32 AM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
does yours shut off every so often? mine does on my 2010, but once or twice a month tho

gsingh55 12-06-2010 10:37 AM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by whatevrworks (Post 312638)
Looks good man glad it worked out for you! Try one thing for me. If you have the dip switches set for the rear camera option even if not wired up like the instructions say try hitting the power button twice very quickly while moving down the road let me know if you rear camera shows up while in drive. Mine is not wire like they instruction with an extra power wire but still functions for some reason but only when in motion. Kinda weird.

I have the 730RER- so it has Nav, and backup camera already-
I set pins 1,2,3,4 down and 5 up.
I tried the backup camera by pressing the uconnect button 2x on my drive this morning and even without wiring the additional power wire the rear cam works while driving - pretty cool.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scottina06 (Post 312654)
Nice!


One question...the wood inserts on the dash......I see a bolt on the end of the wood insert. Did you pay attention to whether or not the wood would come out or how it was attached?

sorry man I didn't pay attention to the Wood trim- but it does "feel" like it would come off.
unless someone else beats me too it, when I open it back up again to install the optional video/audio harness I will check on thh trim as well.

Quote:

Originally Posted by IndyBob (Post 312725)
Great writeup gsingh55.

I will use your tips when my Lock Pick arrives. Do you have the 430N unit? I notice on Coastal Electronics web site that it did not list the pin settings for the 430N. Did yours come with updated instructions?

Thanks again for posting.

I have the 730RER-
the printed directions were not updated - this is based on the the spec sheet for pin 1 being high or low speed communication did not list the 2011JGC.
I think I read on some thread that they were high speed to that's what I set it to and it worked.-
as far as the rest of the pin settings I believe it all depends on what features you already have on the system and what you want to add- not based on specific models- like there was no spec sheet specifically for the 730RER -


Quote:

Originally Posted by parry69 (Post 312745)
does yours shut off every so often? mine does on my 2010, but once or twice a month tho

well I can't really speak to it shutting off randomly with the lockpick yet as it's only been 1 day, but I will keep you posted if anything happens.
HOWEVER, I did have the Radio/NAV unit shut off on me once while driving-
I was driving briskly and trying to catch a light before it changed-
made a right turn and saw there were kids in the street so braked hard while wheel was still turned right- the unit shut off and then reset and turned on again. but that was the only time it happend so far.

parry69 12-06-2010 12:41 PM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by parry69
does yours shut off every so often? mine does on my 2010, but once or twice a month tho
well I can't really speak to it shutting off randomly with the lockpick yet as it's only been 1 day, but I will keep you posted if anything happens.
HOWEVER, I did have the Radio/NAV unit shut off on me once while driving-
I was driving briskly and trying to catch a light before it changed-
made a right turn and saw there were kids in the street so braked hard while wheel was still turned right- the unit shut off and then reset and turned on again. but that was the only time it happend so far.


did that happen after installing the lockpick or before? i happened to me once, but i guess it was just a glitch, and it was before i installed the lockpick. also, my rear camera does not turn on while driving because they said it was too difficult to run the wire back to catch the rear camera. i did hook up the additional wire harness for the front camera (hook up was for a baby camera) so by hitting the button twice, then pressing the volume button, i can turn on my front camera

gsingh55 12-06-2010 01:12 PM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by parry69 (Post 312812)
Quote:
Originally Posted by parry69

did that happen after installing the lockpick or before? i happened to me once, but i guess it was just a glitch, and it was before i installed the lockpick. also, my rear camera does not turn on while driving because they said it was too difficult to run the wire back to catch the rear camera. i did hook up the additional wire harness for the front camera (hook up was for a baby camera) so by hitting the button twice, then pressing the volume button, i can turn on my front camera

The random shut off happened before the lockpick-
I did not run any wires back to the camera- it's all stock(except for the lockpick now)- and the rear camera still worked so it must still be able to get power.

parry69 12-06-2010 09:32 PM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
it might be the difference in years, and radios in that sense, which is the reasoning behind coastal telling me i had to run it to the back

i asked them if i could tap into the rear camera wire behind the radio, and they said no

rdalcanto 12-07-2010 11:31 AM

Re: Lockpick V.3 Intalled w/pics
 
Nice write-up. +rep for you!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community