Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK2 - (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/)
-   -   Hot wire through firewall? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/hot-wire-through-firewall-15996.html)

lyndelw 12-07-2010 04:08 PM

Hot wire through firewall?
 
Has any one found a way to get a hot wire from the fuse box to the console. I am presently using double power plug, but looks kinda junky. First vehicle I ever owned that I could not find a way to run a wire.

Bmwister 12-07-2010 04:15 PM

Re: Hot wire through firewall?
 
Just run a fused line directly from the battery under th passenger seat. Why go through the fuse block?

B.P.O.D 12-07-2010 04:20 PM

Re: Hot wire through firewall?
 
are you talking about the fuse box inside the jeep or in the engine bay?

if the engine bay there are a few grommet you can tap through to feed any cable through the firewall. robpp said to use the hood latch grommet and that is what i used.

doodlewalker 05-10-2011 07:40 PM

Re: Hot wire through firewall?
 
Hi,


I could definitely use some help with finding a usable grommet to feed wires from the engine bay into the passenger compartment! I was wondering if you have pictures of the interior and/or engine bay showing the grommets that can be used to feed a wire from the engine bay through the firewall? I'm trying to wire up a remote radar detector and can't figure out how to wire it through the firewall. I tried the hood latch cable - if I was looking at the right cable, it was way up at the top right of the firewall (when facing the front of the vehicle), just under the corner of the hood closest to the rearview mirror? If that was it, I wasn't able to make the cable or grommet budge in order to feed another wire next to it.

From the inside of the vehicle, I looked around above the brake pedal and found a random hole on the firewall (my guess its about the size of a quarter) and it had a rubber plug in it but no wires or anything going through it...I pushed on it lightly and the plug popped out (presumably somewhere in the engine bay, but I couldn't find it). I tried feeding a wire through it from the inside, but after maybe half a foot, I could no longer push the wire through, as it felt like it had hit up against a wall

That's when I noticed that in the engine bay, there seemed to be a bit of trim or lining on the firewall for looks or insulation, and didn't know if those were blocking my view of some usable grommets? Can that trim/lining be easily removed and put back (it looks like it is some kind of insulation...the surface is kind of shiny like aluminum foil).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!

jeep2011 05-12-2011 07:13 AM

Re: Hot wire through firewall?
 
The engine bay has a dual wall between the cabin and the engine. It may be possible none of the holes line up on purpose to reduce noise that enters the cabin.

jeep2011 05-12-2011 07:13 AM

Re: Hot wire through firewall?
 
The engine bay has a dual wall between the cabin and the engine. It may be possible none of the holes line up on purpose to reduce noise that enters the cabin.

RageOfFury 05-12-2011 01:48 PM

Re: Hot wire through firewall?
 
Check out the mopar trailer wiring harness instructions. As part of the wiring hardness, you must pass the brake controller cable through the firewall and they show you where and how to do it. So you can use that to help you pass your hot wire.

http://site.justforjeeps.com/guide/82212196AB.pdf

doodlewalker 05-15-2011 10:12 AM

Re: Hot wire through firewall?
 
RageofFury,

Thanks so much for that link! I ended up using that hole in the firewall mentioned in the trailer wiring harness which is used by the positive battery cable. I ended up just pushed the whole grommet out as it was too hard trying to push my wires through a slit in the grommet, and I don't think I'll be going into water anywhere that high up that it would be a problem. It was a bitch reaching that hole/grommet, it is really a two person job (one person feeding wire from the engine bay side, and one person pulling it in from the cabin). Thanks again for your help!!

RageOfFury 05-15-2011 01:07 PM

Re: Hot wire through firewall?
 
Your Welcome!:thumbsup:

You might want to seal up the hole with some exterior grade silicone caulking or automotive RTV just in case;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community