Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   Programing new key Fob ? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/programing-new-key-fob-16389.html)

enjoylife 12-16-2010 07:10 PM

Programing new key Fob ?
 
Hi just wanted to know if anybody knows how to program my 3rd Key fob and is it something i could do myself. Thanks!

STIX 12-17-2010 12:50 AM

You can but you need both original fobs present to do it. I saw a fob kit with instructions on ebay.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk

GR33N D3M0N 12-17-2010 12:51 AM

Re: Programing new key Fob ?
 
try this!

http://www.fixya.com/cars/t2313678-program_fobik

good luck!!

pattyboy 12-26-2010 08:53 PM

Re: Programing new key Fob ?
 
say, did this work??????????

enjoylife 12-27-2010 08:34 PM

Re: Programing new key Fob ?
 
Well yes and no ! Lol ! The key fob operates the door locks, remote starter, power liftgate, :mad:and liftgate glass (3rd remote has that button but the original 2 don't). But the biggest problem is when I go to enter the car with the doors locked and the key in my pocket it won't open and also the push button start does not work . The problem is it is not reading the key and can't get that to work. Tried the sequence many times and nothing.

Marky 01-03-2011 04:20 PM

Re: Programing new key Fob ?
 
I bought a new FOBIK on eBay and was unable to program my new key at all (and yes I had the two original keys). I couldn't even get the WK2 into programming mode. I ended up returning the key. I'm amazed you did it.

enjoylife 01-08-2011 11:07 PM

Re: Programing new key Fob ?
 
Took my jeep to the dealer and they programmed the key to the truck for it to start and sense the key . The tech told me he tried to program it with the tech tool like he has done with previous vehicles but did not work. He said there's a separate module or a different way to do it with the Wk2 . Anyways it works now and can only be programmed at the dealer for the key to function properly .

gpjeep 08-02-2011 11:53 PM

Re: Programing new key Fob ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by enjoylife (Post 330799)
Took my jeep to the dealer and they programmed the key to the truck for it to start and sense the key . The tech told me he tried to program it with the tech tool like he has done with previous vehicles but did not work. He said there's a separate module or a different way to do it with the Wk2 . Anyways it works now and can only be programmed at the dealer for the key to function properly .

what did they charge you?

aimpulsive 06-20-2012 05:43 AM

My dealer charged $65 to program a third key from ebay. It is a racket as I know it did not take him more than five minutes. He claimed it took a special machine (don't remember it's name).

aimpulsive 06-20-2012 05:44 AM

I think they called it a scan or startscan tool.

Bart Man 10-20-2012 08:13 PM

Re: Programing new key Fob ?
 
Your car came with 2 fobiks from the factory, if you bought a third one from Chrysler, read on, insert the first one in the win module, (key hole), and turn ignition to on only, watch your sentry red light to come on, wait till it goes out, you have ten seconds to insert the second one, red light will come on and start to blink, you have ten seconds to insert the third one , turn it to on and watch the red light to blink and once it stops and a chime will sound, the third fobik is now programed. If you only have one fobik, lost the other, your out of luck, you will have to visit a Chysler dealer. GOOD LUCK, RDJRP

Jughead 07-09-2014 12:40 PM

Re: Programing new key Fob ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bart Man (Post 699866)
Your car came with 2 fobiks from the factory, if you bought a third one from Chrysler, read on, insert the first one in the win module, (key hole), and turn ignition to on only, watch your sentry red light to come on, wait till it goes out, you have ten seconds to insert the second one, red light will come on and start to blink, you have ten seconds to insert the third one , turn it to on and watch the red light to blink and once it stops and a chime will sound, the third fobik is now programed. If you only have one fobik, lost the other, your out of luck, you will have to visit a Chysler dealer. GOOD LUCK, RDJRP


That post is from 2008-2009

will that work on the new WK2 2011-14 FOB's?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community