Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f196/)
-   -   gas mileage? 4.0 what can i do? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f196/gas-mileage-4-0-what-can-i-do-16546.html)

boosted88coupe 12-21-2010 01:37 PM

gas mileage? 4.0 what can i do?

Ok guys I just bought an 04 laredo. We love this vehicle it has barely 100k and runs and drives great. But this thing gets 14mpg. Which is not acceptable... I got several buddies that have them and are getting 20-21 on the highway and theirs has twice the miles. Mine has been very well kept looks like new. I am a mechanic and I have some pretty serious toys ranging from big blocks, turbo'd stang, modded powerstroke and this thing gets worse mileage than anything I own. I know chrysler products typically suck because they refuse to use a maf sensor. So let's put it out there... what are my options?...this is my first jeep so I don't know the market secrets yet to the jeeps.

Methanol injection
Turbo- got a few extras laying around
Programmer
Exhaust
Intake
Megasquirt standalone efi
4bt or hemi swap with custom tuning
Again this jeeps purpose is for trips and winter car for the wife. But from what I understand the 4.0 doesn't have the nuts to propel the weight of the vehicle and get mileage. Please shoot me some pointers guys and gals

cheapjeep 12-21-2010 06:27 PM

Re: gas mileage? 4.0 what can i do?

I think your buddies might be the exception. Our '99 4.0 gets 15 city and maybe 19 highway if the winds blowing our way.The HO will out do it by 1 mpg city and 2 highway if I drive it like a rational human being. I'd try some synthetics,a good set of plugs(ie not Champion),clean the tb and maybe Superchips on the mileage tune. Also try a 185(not a 160) t stat as they run too warm on a 195. The stat seemed to help us.

boosted88coupe 12-22-2010 03:36 AM