Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Can you swap in a 6.1 (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/can-you-swap-in-a-6-1-a-17114.html)

baseboy391 01-06-2011 12:52 PM

Can you swap in a 6.1
 
Just want to start off by saying hello! Ive been an active member on other jeep related Forums but im more into the offroad scene so ive mainly just been a looker here. Well my roommate works a shop that tricks out subi's, builds them up right. Ive got over 100k on my 05 wk Limited with the Hemi in it, I know she still has plenty of life but it sparked the question of what to replace it with when it blows. They say they have seen a few decently priced 6.1's over the years but has never had a reason to buy one. He said he would love to try the swap and will take care of the motor as long as I go out and find the information.

My questions are..

Well lest start with is it possible / even close to worth it?

1. Will it just drop in (room wise)

2. What wont bolt up or work under the hood from the 5.7?

3. Will my transmission bolt up? If not is there and adapter?

4. Will any linkage have to be adjusted?

5. Electronics still work (Computer ect.)

6. Any thing or advice yall can think of?

7. Any one on this forum thats done it that you could refer me 2?



And to be fair here's a pic of my WK!
http://i1195.photobucket.com/albums/...5/IMG_0683.jpg

CPT2010 01-06-2011 01:04 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
The transmission wont be able to handle it so you will need a new tranny...
if you are upgrading the tranny.. might as well jump up to a 392 atleast.

as far as other things.. other guys will chime in

baseboy391 01-06-2011 01:11 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
Oh ya sorry years!!! I have an 05 so do I need to stay with that year? Can I use one out of any srt-8 other then the srt-8 wk?

CPT2010 01-06-2011 01:38 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
I understand budget, but if i was to pay for a new engine i would look into a new trans as well. install all at once to stay away from trouble.. very debatable topic

White Chocolate 01-06-2011 01:40 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
Just out of curiousity, what kind of basket do you got on your jeep?

baseboy391 01-06-2011 02:06 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
Well if I were to do it then I want to do it right. If that means stronger trans then ill do it. Is this a big problem tho? Im not racing it or anything haha is there a 5 or 6 speed I could swap in? That would be awesome!

White its a rola rack with the extension, the one for the “commander”

SvenskaJeepGuy 01-06-2011 02:07 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
you would need this...........

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/07-Ch...Q5fAccessories


it is everything you would need for the swap

baseboy391 01-06-2011 03:44 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SvenskaJeepGuy (Post 329497)
you would need this...........

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/07-Ch...Q5fAccessories


it is everything you would need for the swap

That would have been nice haha so what im getting is most things bolt up? it can be just a swap?

SvenskaJeepGuy 01-06-2011 03:50 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
once you get everything there it would be a swap. you would need all of the computer modules and wiring. you would also need the new transmission and transfer case that come with that listing.

AcidCold 01-06-2011 04:01 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
If you are a off-road guy, you need to know that your cv axle will not like the added power with your tire size. You might get a little heavy on the foot during mud or rocky terrain which will lead to problems. Just my opinion, I would go crd if it was me.

yousmellfunnytoo 01-06-2011 04:05 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
THere was a write up somewhere of someone who did the swap... However, it was a lot of work.

Axles are different, TC is different... lots of headaches im sure

Just get a 392 stroker with heads and a cam, cheaper, same amount of power if not more

555ctsv 01-06-2011 08:56 PM

Re: Can you swap in a 6.1
 
I definitely suggest upgrading the tranny. I just picked my Jeep today after having transmission #4 installed. 4 transmissions in under 1.5 years... Add it all up and i wish i would have just done it right the first time. Lesson learned :(

On a side note RDP Motorsports installed the tranny and they had BDKARMA a bit further along. They had a huge set of racing slicks tucked up under the body, looked so cool!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community