Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Navigation use w/o radio (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/navigation-use-w-o-radio-17575.html)

zer0kid 01-17-2011 01:30 PM

Navigation use w/o radio
 
Questions regarding the 430N
Is it possible to use the Navigation without hearing the radio? I found that the radio volume can be dialed down to mute retaining the nav volume which brings me to my second question. How is the nav volume adjusted without having to wait for a prompt and then fiddling with the volume knob?

mhassler 01-17-2011 01:34 PM

Re: Navigation use w/o radio
 
Well, on the 730N, the Nav volume is an option under the Nav settings. I know it doesn't help much but the 430N may have a similar feature. I know my RR did as does my wifes Benz.

Could be a good place to start if you haven't already.

Remleym 01-17-2011 02:54 PM

Re: Navigation use w/o radio
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zer0kid (Post 336320)
Questions regarding the 430N
Is it possible to use the Navigation without hearing the radio? I found that the radio volume can be dialed down to mute retaining the nav volume which brings me to my second question. How is the nav volume adjusted without having to wait for a prompt and then fiddling with the volume knob?

I think if you adjust the Nav volume during any Nav announcement, that volume will stick and become the Nav volume from that point on. I don't think you can preset the Nav volume in any options or preferences screen. I think you'll find that all volume settings (radio, phone, nav) are "sticky" and will be remembered and used in future uses of each function.

sella 01-17-2011 08:42 PM

Re: Navigation use w/o radio
 
I've been perplexed about this as well. Seems goofy that you can't have the NAV come up automatically without the radio or songs off of the HDD playing when the Jeep is powered on.

I've tried pausing play from the HDD before I power it down, but the Jeep doesn't remember the setting after it's powered back on, and just starts playing again.

Sounds like adjusting the media volume is a solution, but seems like there should be a better way.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community