Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f196/)
-   -   45RFE problems. New member (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f196/45rfe-problems-new-member-17601.html)

2.8-350TBI 01-17-2011 09:47 PM

45RFE problems. New member
 
Hey, im a new member from springfield oregon, and I come in search of guidance.

My dad has a 99 WJ with the 4.7/45RFE combo.
About two yrs ago, he did an oil flush and filter change on the tranny, but it lost third and fourth gear right after that.

I did a little research on this site and found out that you are supposed to press the oil filter seal in before putting the filter on. I am practically sure that my dad didnt know this.

I havent dropped the pan again yet, as I just got the jeep to my shop.

My question is:
Has anyone gone through this before?
And what was the outcome?

Thanks in advance for your help :)

Marlin 01-17-2011 10:54 PM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
He's been without the top two gears for two entire years?

2.8-350TBI 01-18-2011 12:19 AM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Marlin (Post 336745)
He's been without the top two gears for two entire years?

No, its been stored away and we have been using our 2 zj's

But now I sold my blazer and have to fix the wj.

Marlin 01-18-2011 12:37 AM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
Ohhh, I see!

Well, welcome, hopefully someone can help you soon! Not familiar with it myself.

White Chocolate 01-18-2011 01:06 AM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
Welcome

Scottina06 01-18-2011 01:51 AM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
I would buy one from a salvage yard...then add the 03+ tcm to make it a 5 speed auto

Frango100 01-18-2011 06:00 AM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
The thing with the primary filter seal is that when you donīt install it first, there is a good change that the filter gets loose and you loose the oil supply. But in that case you would loose all gears i think.
I heard bad things about flushing the tranny. Depending on the cleanliness of the fluid where it is done, it can give you more problems then good results. The machine used for the flushing was probably used on many other trannys before and it seems that you can get lots of dirt in your tranny, blocking the small holes in the solenoid assembly.

2.8-350TBI 01-18-2011 12:44 PM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Frango100 (Post 336881)
The thing with the primary filter seal is that when you donīt install it first, there is a good change that the filter gets loose and you loose the oil supply. But in that case you would loose all gears i think.
I heard bad things about flushing the tranny. Depending on the cleanliness of the fluid where it is done, it can give you more problems then good results. The machine used for the flushing was probably used on many other trannys before and it seems that you can get lots of dirt in your tranny, blocking the small holes in the solenoid assembly.

Im am thinking thats the issue.
But thats the weird part; I would think it loses everything that way, but maybe its not building enough pressure for third and OD.

I will drop the pan today and inspect it. I hope that the filter is loose and I dont have to buy a new tranny.

Thanks for the welcome and the help guys.
The wj is my favorite of all the jeeps we have.

2.8-350TBI 01-19-2011 12:02 AM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
Did new filters and fluid today.
Tranny didnt change one bit.

New tranny in tomorrow

Marlin 01-19-2011 12:05 AM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
be sure to have it flashed with the 5-speed program once you're done.

Much gooderererer.

Frango100 01-19-2011 08:00 AM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
You already ordered a new tranny, otherwise you could have done some more trouble shooting. It can be that the TCM has set a trouble code, indicating where the problem is. The problem also could be in the rigging of the gear shift cable.

2.8-350TBI 01-19-2011 12:41 PM

Re: 45RFE problems. New member
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Marlin (Post 337466)
be sure to have it flashed with the 5-speed program once you're done.

Much gooderererer.

Can I just swap the TCM with the 5 speed version?
If so, where is the TCM? Ive always been interested in that...



Quote:

Originally Posted by Frango100 (Post 337535)
You already ordered a new tranny, otherwise you could have done some more trouble shooting. It can be that the TCM has set a trouble code, indicating where the problem is. The problem also could be in the rigging of the gear shift cable.

TCM is trouble free.
It logs a 3rd and fourth gear ratio error.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community