Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   0 compression in cylinders 5 and 6!!!! (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/0-compression-in-cylinders-5-and-6-a-18412.html)

jeeprs86 02-04-2011 02:59 PM

0 compression in cylinders 5 and 6!!!!

:mad:ANY HELP OR INFO.
Compression test revealed no compression in cylinders five and six...
maybe broken gasket or something. I am not a mechanic so I dont know what would cause this... Any thoughts? cost etc.? Im always up to date with my oil changes and I have fairly new spark plugs as well.
The jeep is in the shop now. I cant wait to get my baby back.

jeeprs86 02-04-2011 03:04 PM

Re: 0 compression in cylinders 5 and 6!!!!

OH and BTW, I have put 156,000 miles in this baby...

robpp 02-04-2011 03:53 PM

its pretty clear you need a motor.

plenty 3.7 for cheep on ebay with way less miles.

jeeprs86 02-04-2011 05:06 PM

Im afraid that your right... but im trying to figure out what would be more cost efficient also... I know that is a major job... Its going to eat into my pocket book either way but do you think an engine swap will be necessary???

ny450es 02-04-2011 05:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeeprs86 (Post 348408)
Im afraid that your right... but im trying to figure out what would be more cost efficient also... I know that is a major job... Its going to eat into my pocket book either way but do you think an engine swap will be necessary???

if you are mechanically inclined...pull the head off to see what your pistons and the walls look like. could be valves that are bad. if it were my call, either get a rebuilt engine or engine from a junk yard. did you have a problem with the engine leading up to this?

555ctsv 02-04-2011 07:28 PM

Do the 3.7's have 2 spark plugs per cylinder? Perhaps 2 of them are loose or broken?