Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   Manual mode (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/manual-mode-20034.html)

french_matt 03-09-2011 10:03 PM

Manual mode
 
Is the autoshift a real manual? I mean if i put it in 2nd for instance and red line it, will it automatically shift to 3rd or will the rev limiter kick in and keep me in 2nd??

Thanks!

Technosavant 03-09-2011 10:13 PM

Re: Manual mode
 
A "real manual" has a direct mechanical connection from the engine to the transmission courtesy of a clutch. The WK2 does not; the power is transferred via a hydraulic torque converter.

The autostick is just a simpler and more intuitive method of taking direct control over the transmission, which is still a traditional automatic transmission. As to whether it will bounce you off the rev limiter or upshift, I have no idea; I can't say I've tried it.

GR33N D3M0N 03-09-2011 10:21 PM

Re: Manual mode
 
i know on my brothers altima, it red lined, and shifted automatically, the 09-10 SRT8 i believe automatically shifted when redlined i believe

mjw930 03-09-2011 10:22 PM

Re: Manual mode
 
Actually, the system in the WK2 is neither. The selector is used to indicate the highest gear you want the transmission to use. It can be made to work like an auto/manual by dropping down to a gear lower than you want then up one but it will downshift as you slow then upshift and stop at the gear selected.

french_matt 03-10-2011 01:55 AM

Re: Manual mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mjw930 (Post 372756)
Actually, the system in the WK2 is neither. The selector is used to indicate the highest gear you want the transmission to use. It can be made to work like an auto/manual by dropping down to a gear lower than you want then up one but it will downshift as you slow then upshift and stop at the gear selected.

Will it upshift if you red line it?? That was my question.
Let's say you put it in 2 and floors it until redline w/o manually switching to 3rd: will it take you to 3rd?

MasterWK 03-10-2011 02:13 AM

Re: Manual mode
 
I don't think so... Just try it out tomorrow to see if it does.

Cherodude 03-10-2011 07:36 AM

Re: Manual mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by french_matt (Post 372872)
Will it upshift if you red line it?? That was my question.
Let's say you put it in 2 and floors it until redline w/o manually switching to 3rd: will it take you to 3rd?

From what I've read, NO it will not shift up beyond the highest gear you have manually selected, but it will limit engine RPMs and hence vehicle speed to prevent over-revving.

2011RitterGC 03-10-2011 07:45 AM

Re: Manual mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by french_matt (Post 372738)
Is the autoshift a real manual? I mean if i put it in 2nd for instance and red line it, will it automatically shift to 3rd or will the rev limiter kick in and keep me in 2nd??

Thanks!

What "Techno" said is 100%. I too have not tried it but most cars will shift.

Also not (unlike a true manual) that if you put the car in "2nd" for example when you stop it still goes back down to 1st. 2nd would just be the highest gear it will shift to (unless you redline it).

2011RitterGC 03-10-2011 07:46 AM

Re: Manual mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by french_matt (Post 372872)
Will it upshift if you red line it?? That was my question.
Let's say you put it in 2 and floors it until redline w/o manually switching to 3rd: will it take you to 3rd?

Try it! Just dont stay at redline too long.

2011RitterGC 03-10-2011 07:51 AM

Re: Manual mode
 
Just one other comment. It is a handy thing if it does upshift at redline. For example in my SLK350 if it looks like someone may want to play at a stoplight I select 1st gear. That way I can start off the line slow waiting to see what the other car is going to do. If he (or she) hits it I am still in 1st (vs. 2nd or 3rd, its a 7 speed) and can hit it for max accel. I dont have to worry about shifting just hold on.

Kreso 03-10-2011 08:24 AM

Re: Manual mode
 
Jeep will not shift over selected speed. It will limit the revs but no shift to next gear. Been there and nothing happen. OK not with WK II but WK. Same thing.

french_matt 03-10-2011 01:28 PM

Re: Manual mode
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kreso (Post 372939)
Jeep will not shift over selected speed. It will limit the revs but no shift to next gear. Been there and nothing happen. OK not with WK II but WK. Same thing.

So I guess you hit the rev limiter and just like a manual box, you'll have to shit yourself otherwise you'll keep bouncing off the rev limiter (assuming u keep pedal to the metal!).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community