Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Newbie-grille question (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/newbie-grille-question-21056.html)

DanD2124 03-31-2011 07:41 AM

Newbie-grille question

Hello all I'm a newbie to this forum and love the info I'm reading.
I have a 2008 grand Cherokee limited 5.7... I purchased an overland grille to swap out mine. I wanted some opinions if I should leave the diamond mesh black or if I should paint it chrome. If I do paint it chrome to match the over laying chrome have people had good luck with it coming out looking good? Or does it look cheap and cheesy painted? Also if anyone has painted it chrome have they had good luck with the paint staying on and not chipping off?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

DAVY27 03-31-2011 08:13 AM

Re: Newbie-grille question

leave it as it is. The problem i think with painting it chrome is the way it comes out. it doesnt really have that chrome look, more like a platinum/silver as time passes. What type of paint are you planning to use if you decide to do so?

DanD2124 03-31-2011 08:35 AM

I wasn't too sure yet maybe one of the Rust-Oleum or I thought I saw a durable Dupont spray. The other thought I had was taking it to a body shop of a guy I know and see what he could do.

RamboTambo 03-31-2011 09:33 AM

What color is your WK?
Are there any other chrome accents on the car?

IMO, the contrast of the black behind the chrome will look better since the chrome grille becomes an accent rather than a huge chunk of chrome up front. Chrome needs to be done subtly because...well its chrome and its shiny and bright and stands out on its own a lot. I'm only picturing it in my head and that's what I am seeing. Just my 2 cents.

SvenskaJeepGuy 03-31-2011 11:26 AM

leave it black

DanD2124 03-31-2011 12:47 PM