Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Newbie - Interior LED's ? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/newbie-interior-leds-21110.html)

DanD2124 04-01-2011 07:31 AM

Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
So I been doing a search for interior LED's to see what people have used or if they had any trouble. I saw the one sticky (picture diagram) which was helpful. I saw the one's where people are recommending using Putco or XenonDepot or VLed's.
Where I'm getting confused is I see some people are saying they leave one light as is usually cargo light. Why is that? I saw some people say you will have to use a resistor if you do all of the interior lights LED. Why is that? I would like to replace the cargo light with an LED cause IMO its too dark in the cargo area at night or even at dusk. So If I replaced all except the glove box would I be ok? If anyonr could explain this a little more I would appreciate it. Below are a few links of the lights I already purchased to test out if I like the LED light's.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002CK4BDI

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000LOUQC2

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000LLEGI0

DAVY27 04-01-2011 09:22 AM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
By replacing all your interior lights with LEDs, it will have a slight dim/glow even when the lights are turned off. Leaving 1 light stock will solve that. I agree, the light on the liftgate is a joke, the Leds make it a bit better but im planning to also do a led strip back there to make the lighting better. Leds are a great upgrade over the stock look, you will love it!

lll2for3lll 04-01-2011 10:39 AM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
I still have the slight glow even with the stock bulb in the glove box.

roddaz 04-01-2011 10:54 AM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
Leaving the glove box lamp as standard will not make any difference to the dim interior light problem, as the glovebox lamp is separately switched.
I had the dim light problem and leaving the cargo area light as standard worked fine for me, but I am going to go with the resistor when I get to the electronics supplier. Because I would also like the increased lighting in the cargo area.
I used 6 Led festoon lamps in the front map lights and 5 Led lamps in the rear units,footwell lighting,cargo area and glove box, All very bright! a good result !!

lll2for3lll 04-01-2011 10:59 AM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
Have a link for the resistor thread? A how to?

DAVY27 04-01-2011 11:03 AM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
woops my bad, thought glovebox would work. good looking out! I left my cargo light stock.

lll2for3lll 04-01-2011 11:07 AM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
I put blue bulbs in the foot wells.

White Chocolate 04-01-2011 11:43 AM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
Hmmm glad I put my LED in the glovebox then. I kept a halogen in my cargo.

LOL my cargo was burnt out since the day I got it. Now I put a normal halogen in, it lights up the back nicely. I like it..

DanD2124 04-01-2011 12:12 PM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
OK what about LED in Dome reading lights, footwell, rear courtsey, cargo. Will I get a glow since glovebox and vanity are stock?

This may be a dumb question but what does the resistor do?

swing4terps 04-01-2011 12:49 PM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DanD2124 (Post 387363)
OK what about LED in Dome reading lights, footwell, rear courtsey, cargo. Will I get a glow since glovebox and vanity are stock?

Essentially you can put interior lights into two groups:

(1) Front Reading (Dome Lights)
Glovebox
Vanity

(2) Footwells
Rear Courtesy
Cargo

Lights in group 1 have no effect on lights in group 2 and vice versa.

White Chocolate 04-01-2011 12:57 PM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
Just do the full upgrade and don't do the cargo? Or else just add the resistor. Personally I think the cargo is just fine with the cargo bulb.

downstate 04-01-2011 01:02 PM

Re: Newbie - Interior LED's ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by White Chocolate (Post 387397)
Just do the full upgrade and don't do the cargo?

That is what I did. I'll get around the LED strip in the back someday.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community