Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f200/)
-   -   1.5 din to 2 din dash ? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f200/1-5-din-to-2-din-dash-21415.html)

uniquetreatone 04-07-2011 12:31 PM

1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
Has anyone converted their dash to fit a 2 din navigation unit in their wj? I've been looking for a aftermarket kit and all I find is others that have trimmed the dash for it to fit. I really don't want to get radio with the motorized screen. I'll probably wait until my next vacation to check out how others did it and figure out if I'm capable or I will just take it somewhere and have them customize it.

Martyp 04-07-2011 02:01 PM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
I'm the same boat as you. I'd love to fit a double DIN headunit in there as the screen on my factory NAV (RB-3) has screwed up so I'm running in the crummy original. Motorized screens are not for me.

It is possible to do but you do need to trim the plastic, not something I'd do (or could do LOL) but I'm sure someone here has done it forgot their name now though... :(

mrjaydeeone 04-07-2011 09:24 PM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
I saw it done on one of the other forums. Basically they cut the opening in the bezel wider, and bondo'd and fiberglassed it nicely. And made some new mounts inside for the unit to stay in place

sjf2187 09-20-2011 05:27 PM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
I cant figure out how to make them full screen. But here are my end results.

http://i909.photobucket.com/albums/a...7/IMG_0030.jpg
http://i909.photobucket.com/albums/a...7/IMG_0031.jpg
http://i909.photobucket.com/albums/a...7/IMG_0032.jpg
http://i909.photobucket.com/albums/a...7/IMG_0033.jpg
http://i909.photobucket.com/albums/a...7/IMG_0034.jpg
http://i909.photobucket.com/albums/a...7/IMG_0035.jpg
http://i909.photobucket.com/albums/a...7/IMG_0036.jpg
http://i909.photobucket.com/albums/a...7/IMG_0037.jpg

uniquetreatone 09-20-2011 06:59 PM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
Did you have to trim anything to get the radio to fit?

mon_21 09-20-2011 08:25 PM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
And where did you get it. That looks nice.....

bematare 09-21-2011 12:56 AM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
Actually TJX(Tony) has the Jeep nav unit installed, pretty nice.. I really like your setup looks very smooth and nice!

MURDEREDWJ 09-26-2011 10:58 PM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
yes yes spill the beans i need this bezel lmfao ahhh so clean looking

TJXJWJ 09-27-2011 08:17 AM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
Looks clean! Where'd the bezel come from? Any modification required to get that HU in there?

Do you retain the use of the steering wheel controls?

DaMitsuMan 09-27-2011 08:21 AM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
I had a local shop do a little fiber glassing for me.

http://i51.tinypic.com/4lixwk.jpg
http://i51.tinypic.com/2r6l8vm.jpg

theblackbox1215 10-01-2011 07:20 AM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mon_21 (Post 487750)
And where did you get it. That looks nice.....

ya where did you get that?

StephenE 10-01-2011 11:01 AM

Re: 1.5 din to 2 din dash ?
 
http://www.automotivespecialtysystem...-din-dash-kit/


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community