Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f77/)
-   -   Jeep is "bucking" when stopped HELP (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f77/jeep-is-bucking-when-stopped-help-22062.html)

jcostri09 04-20-2011 03:50 PM

Jeep is "bucking" when stopped HELP

The jeep is a 2005 4.7 with QDII

When stopped the RPMs drop and sometimes stalls, also feels like it is bucking at a stopped position.

This problem only happens when the jeep is in gear, if it is in neutral there is no rpm problem or bucking sensation.

A mechanic I had look at it wants to "grease the splines and replace the rear shocks" He says it may be the rear drive shaft and lubing the slip splines may help. otherwise the connection point of the rear drive shaft may be bad. He says there are better replacement parts available, but it would be a big job.

Now, I'm no mechanic, which may be why I have no idea what he is talking about... But its not something i've ever heard of before..

Any suggestions or advice?

jcostri09 04-21-2011 09:06 AM

Re: Jeep is "bucking" when stopped HELP

nobody??

TJcust 04-21-2011 09:18 AM

I am no mechanic either.. but sounds like the clutch isnt fully disengauging..

I don't wanna tell you that since its a much bigger job than simply replacing the rear shocks and drive shaft, but that would be my first guess specially since it works fine in neutral.

how many Miles/Km?

I would get a second oppinion and run my theory across your mechanic.

jlewissystem 04-21-2011 09:19 AM