Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Detailing (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f8/)
-   -   Advice/Questions on Claybar (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f8/advice-questions-on-claybar-22831.html)

DAVY27 05-06-2011 12:28 AM

Advice/Questions on Claybar

This will be my first time claybarring. Read some how-to and watched several helpful clips and i THINK i can do it but read most people can marred their paint on their first time. I do have a DA so that might help later in the process? Few questions:
1)How necessary is claybar? My paint feels pretty smooth and looks to be in good condition.
2)What are the effects of claybar on the clearcoat?
3) Which claybar kit do you recommend? I'm looking at the Meguiars Smooth Surface Clay Kit.

My main concern is the marring or scratches caused by the claybar since this is my first time. Any advices/tips will be appreciated! :)

-Dave

Marlin 05-06-2011 12:30 AM

Re: Advice/Questions on Claybar

I can't help much except to say this;

for the waste of an entire day + on a weekend, I'd much prefer to part with a couple of hundred bucks and have a pro do the job right the first time :)
haha

TJXJWJ 05-06-2011 12:04 PM

Do your rocker area. Then look at the clay and see what it looks like. If you're going to have surface contaminants, that's where they will be...right behind the tires on the rocker panels. If you're satisfied with what you see, then no need to clay.

I've had a lot of luck with the stuff, even when I had to be more aggressive then I wanted to be.

Knead it often, and use smaller pieces. In case you drop one, you'll have more pieces to work with. Once you drop it, it's garbage.

White WK Swagga 05-06-2011 12:14 PM