Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK2 - (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/)
-   -   ACC and towing? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f73/acc-and-towing-23224.html)

Overland-North 05-14-2011 07:14 PM

ACC and towing?

Hey gang. I recently bought a new (to me) tent trailer and have towed it twice in the last two weeks. I'm new to towing and just read in the manual that the adaptive cruise control is to be turned off while towing but it doesn't specify why.
Can anyone shed any light on this for me? I'd appreciate any info. We're driving across Canada and back this summer and the cruise would be beneficial to say the least.

Thanks.

Technosavant 05-14-2011 07:17 PM

Re: ACC and towing?

Probably because the extra weight means that not only is it rougher on the powertrain when accelerating, but especially because it can be dangerous when decelerating. If you're depending on ACC to keep you from rear-ending something, add on another ton or so back there and the system might not compensate.

ColdCase 05-14-2011 07:23 PM

Regardless, you still should be able to use the non-adaptive cruse control.

Overland-North 05-14-2011 09:12 PM

Ha! I have regular cruise too! Hagahaha. It seems as though I keep finding things out about my Jeep every week. ;) So it shouldn't be an issue using regular ol' cruise while towing?

bobkbusch 05-15-2011 12:25 AM

I towed my trailer with 2 ATVs, around 2200lbs, using the ACC just to see how it did. I used the number 3, or farthest following distance, setting. I was towing at approx 65 mph on relatively flat highway. It worked perfectly...

mjw930 05-15-2011 09:10 AM