Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Detailing (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f8/)
-   -   need advice - should i use a sealant? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f8/need-advice-should-i-use-a-sealant-23492.html)

jvs0302 05-21-2011 10:56 PM

need advice - should i use a sealant?

ok guys, i am new to detailing, but have been reading up alot.

i am thinking of doing a paint correction with the two step meguiars microfiber DA system. it looks like it is very user friendly and easy to do.

i drive about 30K miles a year due to the nature of my job. my 2010 already has 38K miles on it. and even though i shouldnt, i tend to find myself driving to a carwash to get a quick wash on the truck. i am so busy with work and have a young daughter and just dont have the hours in the weekend to wash my own vehicle all of the time.

for this reason, am i better off using a sealant?? will that give me a more durable protection? if so, do i apply after the polish/wax? or do i use it instead of one of those products.

please help me develop a plan on how to do an initial detail and also what my maintenance should be.

thanks!!!

Martyp 05-22-2011 05:34 AM

Re: need advice - should i use a sealant?

Most definetly yes, get a sealant an there.

I'd suggest Zaino to you, I have used it personally and it goes on and off very nicely and leaves a finish you'd be hard pushed to beat regardless of color. If you have anything other than white/silver get Z5-PRO, if you do have white/silver get Z2-PRO. Regardless you will need the ZFX kit too.

Now after you have clayed and corrected the paint give it a wipe down with IPA this will remove any polishing oils which will prevent a good bond for the Zaino. After that just lay on 3 coats - 9 month protection.