Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Dual Battery setup? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/dual-battery-setup-23855.html)

lewi3069 05-31-2011 04:12 PM

Dual Battery setup?
 
Has anyone done one? Here is my basic plan.

I will keep my stock battery in its location then install a second battery in the back cargo area in my soon to be made new cargo tray... Im thinking running 4 or 2ga wire back to the front and using the painless wiring 250amp dual battery kit. http://www.painlessperformance.com/w...=4x4%20OffRoad

http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...atteries.shtml

brunality 06-01-2011 07:59 AM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
If you're adding a 2nd battery that far away, you really need to get a 1/0awg run from the engine bay to the back. 2 or 4awg just won't cut it, specifically when charging under load.
The isolator kit looks like a real nice package.

lewi3069 06-01-2011 09:16 AM

Alright thanks for the input. Wire is not a problem as I can get a pretty good price on it.

Sent from my Evo 4G using Tapatalk

ekaz 06-01-2011 10:29 AM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
Yeah....1/0AWG for sure.

Crestwood1001 06-01-2011 02:34 PM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
Can I ask why your doing a 2 battery set up?

lewi3069 06-01-2011 02:51 PM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Crestwood1001 (Post 423357)
Can I ask why your doing a 2 battery set up?

Well right now I was just thinking about it... Mainly I saw battery jumping, less alt load, helpful with winch... Im not going to do this until after I get my lift.

dhillon09 06-01-2011 03:06 PM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
Sounds like a pretty sweet idea ... Just make sure you vent that battery properly or get a completely sealed one. I've got 0 gauge in my WJ ... would be pretty sweet to smack a second battery in there haha.

Good luck!

brunality 06-01-2011 03:51 PM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
Another thing you might look into is having the alternator rewound into a high amp (220+). Places like Ohio Generator do it fairly cheap and quick. It at least beats looking for a dual alternator setup where you install a new bracket and run longer belts.
I've noticed with my stereo, I can kill my Red Top in about a minute at idle...

lewi3069 06-01-2011 03:55 PM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by brunality (Post 423401)
Another thing you might look into is having the alternator rewound into a high amp (220+). Places like Ohio Generator do it fairly cheap and quick. It at least beats looking for a dual alternator setup where you install a new bracket and run longer belts.
I've noticed with my stereo, I can kill my Red Top in about a minute at idle...

How much are we talking? :)

soontobesrt 06-01-2011 06:32 PM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by brunality (Post 423401)
Another thing you might look into is having the alternator rewound into a high amp (220+). Places like Ohio Generator do it fairly cheap and quick. It at least beats looking for a dual alternator setup where you install a new bracket and run longer belts.
I've noticed with my stereo, I can kill my Red Top in about a minute at idle...

At idle you can kill a battery in a minute, what kind of system are you running dude? :eek: Or maybe battery is done haha

lewi3069 06-01-2011 08:38 PM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by soontobesrt (Post 423509)
At idle you can kill a battery in a minute, what kind of system are you running dude? :eek: Or maybe battery is done haha

Agree that is a beast system!

brunality 06-02-2011 10:45 AM

Re: Dual Battery setup?
 
It's all in the signature, but I've popped 140amp breakers. Those JL amps do not mess around, I've calculated it before at full crank and total output it closer to 1750watts rather than the 1300 it should be. And when I say kill, I mean bring it under 10v and the amps shut off until back over 12v. It's fine above 2000rpm.

Having the alternator rewound varies, I seem to remember it being around $200 a few years back, but that was to get it to around 160amps on my Acura (from 90). It's about a week turnaround, so you'll be without a ride until then, or they might still offer them to buy and turn yours into them for a core refund. Cost more up front, but you won't lose any time.
Check out the website and give them a call to find out real details. We used them when I installed stereo, but that's been over 5 years now. (hint: I miss that!)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community