Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Looking to add Hitch to 08 limited (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/looking-to-add-hitch-to-08-limited-24864.html)

crazylikeacharger 06-24-2011 07:44 PM

Looking to add Hitch to 08 limited

I am looking to add a hitch to my recently purchased 08 Grand Cherokee Limited. I have googled my options and i see there is plenty of different ones out there. I am looking to get a class 3

Basically my question comes down to this. Which is better or is there no real difference other than look, the style that requires the bumper to be cut/cleared for the receiver or the style that just stick below the bumper with no cutting required?

jas32 06-26-2011 05:57 PM

Re: Looking to add Hitch to 08 limited

I'm not an expert on this subject but I believe the biggest difference would be the reduction in departure angle since the hitch that hangs below the bumper (without the cutout) mounts about 2-3 inches lower. Otherwise in most cases the capacity of the hitch are the same.

NHWK05 06-26-2011 06:12 PM

The only benefit to the non jeep hitch is you don't need to cut the bumper and you may not need a drop bar for your tow ball. I have the OE hitch and for 99% of my towing I need a 6in drop. You want you ball to be 18in from ground to center of the ball after hooking up to the trailer. So with some trailers you might need a rise to your tow bar.

Personally I like the look of the OE hitch and added ground clearance. I'd rather use a drop bar then a riser bar.

Camaro614 06-26-2011 07:50 PM