Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   Sub Installation Troubleshooting (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/sub-installation-troubleshooting-25070.html)

Devilsmed98 06-29-2011 10:03 AM

Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
Now I know it's a bit hard to help someone troubleshoot a problem without actually being there but please bare with me, I spent 4 hours last night after I installed my amp and sub trying to narrow down this problem. I've searched everywhere, even different forums with no luck.

Equipment: REC Headunit, Alpine MRP-M500 Amp, JL Audio W6 12"

Since I am using the stock headunit I don't have the RCA cable inputs, and don't believe the adapter would work with my pre-existing ipod input. So instead I used the speaker level input; tapped into my rear speakers. There is a molex*? Connector that I believe gets used and then the speaker wires go into that. I don't have that connector and instead I just stuck the wires in there as they fit snug because of the wire insulation.

Background: I've been trying to play some dubstep (electronic mayhem) which has VERY heavy and bass intensive drops; essentially the only reason I want this subwoofer hooked up since the stock speakers do no justice at all.

Problem: When I play certain songs the subwoofer will play the very light bass notes, and then if any moderate or heavy bass comes it will cut out. On certain songs the sub woofer immediately clips, on others it will play for MAYBE 5 seconds.

What I have done to troubleshoot this in order:
1. Cleaned the battery terminal

2. Found that I forgot to sand down the ground (used the factory amp bolt and grounded it down to bare metal, then wiped with a wet cloth)

3. My friend took a voltage meter*? and found that the power is getting 12.6v, the ground works, pretty much everything works. The only weird thing was that the right or left channel for the speaker inputs (one or the other not sure which one) had a negative voltage? draw? until you reversed the wires. We tried to hook it up with the wires reversed with the same effects.

4. Took out my sub, put it in my friends car and connected it (RCA cables) works flawless.

5. Took out my amp and put it in my friends car (RCA cables) works flawless again.


I'm pretty much stumped right now as to what to do.

I think it's the speaker inputs but I'm not sure if it's because it's not connected with a molex connector, if it it's because one of the channels is drawing a negative voltage until the wires are reversed.


Any help is greatly appreciated, and I'm sorry if I missed any important information. I've been waiting on this install for over a year now and finally the day comes and everything goes wrong lmao.

Thanks in advanced, Frank.


*clifnotes version* Subwoofer cuts out on any sign of moderate bass*


Here's a video I took of the problem:

JRsmoothee 06-29-2011 07:55 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
sounds like a power issue to me.......did you measure the voltage on the power wire while playing music (heavy bass), you could be gettin some voltage drop which causes the amp to clip/cutout...... you should have a minimum of 12 volts (more is better) while listening to music at full tilt, if not you need to upgrade your electrical system. You can do this buy adding a bigger alternator or multiple batteries....

after watching the video i think it could also be your signal inputs to the amp.......use a line output converter

Devilsmed98 06-29-2011 08:31 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRsmoothee (Post 439680)
sounds like a power issue to me.......did you measure the voltage on the power wire while playing music (heavy bass), you could be gettin some voltage drop which causes the amp to clip/cutout...... you should have a minimum of 12 volts (more is better) while listening to music at full tilt, if not you need to upgrade your electrical system. You can do this buy adding a bigger alternator or multiple batteries....

after watching the video i think it could also be your signal inputs to the amp.......use a line output converter

Ya I mean power wise I can play a song with little bass, turn the gain and all that goodness up unti the sub is shaking the street. As soon as a really deep bass (signal) hits it cuts out so that's why I'm guessing signal also. With a line out converter I'm guessing I could use my pre-existing rear speaker taps?

remmy 06-29-2011 08:58 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
How is your ground on the amp looking?

Devilsmed98 06-29-2011 09:03 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by remmy (Post 439724)
How is your ground on the amp looking?

The ground was bare metal, had to sand down the paint, the the primer finally got to some bare metal and wiped it with a wet cloth. At this point I might just sand down a lot more because I would hate for it to be something as simple as that.

remmy 06-30-2011 04:30 AM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
Sorry... I meant how long I your ground cable. It sounds like a dumb question but you'd be surprised.

brunality 06-30-2011 01:20 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
Didn't read every thing here, but it sounds like you are using speaker level inputs on the amp from the speakers in the door? If you have the BA amp (probably do) the amp has it's own ever-changing spectrum. If you are blaring it above 22, the amp trims out deep bass to prevent damage to the speakers. You have to tap into the right front door speaker. The rear 6-1/2" are cutoff higher anyway and the front 6x9" are set as mid-bass only with the higher freq. going to the 3-1/2" in the dash.

You could dump 15v on that amp and it won't matter if there's no signal. Best bet is to get the adapter from PAC C2A-CHY (if you have the BA amp), this will give you untouched RCA signal from the head unit.

brunality 06-30-2011 01:27 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
Additional thought, if you're unsure where to tap into the wiring, look at the instructions for adding the Kicker sub upgrade
http://www.wkjeeps.com/wk_kicker.htm

08Hemi 06-30-2011 06:07 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
check out my install thread...there is some great infor on there and a lot of pics. Hopefully that helps a little:


http://jeepgarage.org/showthread.php?t=2075


That was my first all by myself install so I asked a lot of questions and put a lot of it in that thread.



EDIT - Check the info posted by Matt about a "clipped" signal...do you have a remote bass knob? To tuen the amp, trun the gain bass on HU, volume and bas-knob all the way up (HU volume to your max setting) and then adjust the gain to your liking. That will prevent a clipped signal coming from your remote knob...just a thought :)

Devilsmed98 06-30-2011 07:30 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by remmy (Post 439844)
Sorry... I meant how long I your ground cable. It sounds like a dumb question but you'd be surprised.

It's about a 3 foot ground cable, which I believe is standard in all the kits I have seen.

Quote:

Originally Posted by brunality (Post 440010)
You have to tap into the right front door speaker. The rear 6-1/2" are cutoff higher anyway and the front 6x9" are set as mid-bass only with the higher freq. going to the 3-1/2" in the dash.

You could dump 15v on that amp and it won't matter if there's no signal. Best bet is to get the adapter from PAC C2A-CHY (if you have the BA amp), this will give you untouched RCA signal from the head unit.

I tapped into the rear speakers because I used an installation guide on here by (matt I believe) which said to use the rear speakers. I thought they were the full range ones too.

I am ready to dish out the money right now for one of those adapters because I'm so frustrated but I don't know if it will be compatible with my PAC Ipod Adapter for my REC headunit.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 08Hemi (Post 440178)
check out my install thread...there is some great infor on there and a lot of pics. Hopefully that helps a little:


http://jeepgarage.org/showthread.php?t=2075


That was my first all by myself install so I asked a lot of questions and put a lot of it in that thread.



EDIT - Check the info posted by Matt about a "clipped" signal...do you have a remote bass knob? To tuen the amp, trun the gain bass on HU, volume and bas-knob all the way up (HU volume to your max setting) and then adjust the gain to your liking. That will prevent a clipped signal coming from your remote knob...just a thought :)

Ya man I've been using your installation thread to help me a lot. I will check the post about the clipped signal; but I don't have a remote bass knob or any output for one on my amplifier.

ekaz 06-30-2011 09:03 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
You want your ground as short as possible with 18" being about the max.

08Hemi 07-06-2011 01:33 PM

Re: Sub Installation Troubleshooting
 
^^ X2 Matt even suggested less than 12" since my amp is 1000 RMS, so I did about 8.5-9"...with 2 Gauge Monster cable...and sanded down the floor for a good connection

Have you been able to figure it out?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community