Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   Can you use existing Sirus antenna (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/can-you-use-existing-sirus-antenna-25182.html)

ChrisL1976 07-01-2011 10:06 AM

Can you use existing Sirus antenna
 
I am looking at a Kenwood head unit and want to continue my sirus radio service. Can you use the existing Sirus antenna already installed in the Jeep or will I need to mount a new antenna outside?

robpp 07-01-2011 10:27 AM

Re: Can you use existing Sirus antenna
 
i was able to reuse the antenna on a pioneer install BUT I HAD to replace the Jeep sirius box with a generic one. I calso had to buy an interfce for the pioneer.

when i changed the sirius box, its under the PS rear area, I was able to unplug and plug my existing sirius antenna into it.

ChrisL1976 07-01-2011 10:44 AM

Re: Can you use existing Sirus antenna
 
Thanks, trying to save myself the work and holes in my keep.

antsjeep 07-05-2011 09:12 AM

Re: Can you use existing Sirus antenna
 
Yes, you can reuse the stock Sirius antenna.

Im pretty sure on all '08-'10 models the Sirius unit is built into the stock radio.

This is direct from wkjeeps.com (pages 20-26 on the PDF for '08 + installs):

2008 82210940AB Gen 2.5, Sirius Satellite Radio Installation Kit: includes antenna, wiring harness and I-sheet. Requires radio with integrated satellite radio (RES, REQ, REN or RER). Installation instructions PDF
$ 154.00


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community