Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   HIDS strobe (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/hids-strobe-2527.html)

kanekong 09-07-2009 01:33 AM

HIDS strobe
 
i put in a set of HIDS in my 2005 wk and when i turn the lights off they strobe for awhile after the jeep is off. is there any way to fix this problem?

S1LV3R_GC_SRT8 09-07-2009 01:49 AM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
Sounds like you need a relay.

That 'strobe' effect will shorten the life of the HID bulbs dramatically.

kanekong 09-07-2009 02:13 AM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
i have a ballast that came with the kit. i need a relay also? it worked fine on my wj that i had. why is it differnt for the wk?

Frankie 09-07-2009 07:05 AM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
Not sure on the WJs, but the WKs will need a relay for the HIGHs/LOWs...Most wont need them for the fogs though!

I only have a relay for my LOWs!

saleen032 09-07-2009 08:41 AM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kanekong (Post 57900)
i have a ballast that came with the kit. i need a relay also? it worked fine on my wj that i had. why is it differnt for the wk?


Wk definitely need relays for the lows, some may need relays for the fogs also...it is hit or miss..I needed them for the fogs...

DAVY27 09-07-2009 08:48 AM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
yea what all the others said...you gonna need a relay my good man

LO.7 09-07-2009 09:02 AM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
I needed them for both my lows and fogs.

Scottina06 09-07-2009 08:31 PM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
see our vendor here....xenondepot for super high quality relays.

Chuck 09-08-2009 09:33 AM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
As far as relays go for WJ's I know my 04 needed relays for the fogs only (I've heard of previous years not needing any relays at all). No need for the lows and I never put any in the highs so I would know about that.

But as stated already, it sounds like you need some relays. They are very easy to hook up.

kanekong 09-08-2009 08:20 PM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
alright guys thanks for the help ill give it a try.

Denny boy 09-11-2009 02:00 PM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
on my XJ i have to turn my lights off wait ten secs then turn the jeep off for my hids to turn off. or if i dont wait long enough i turn the ignition to on then off and they will turn off.

XenonDepot 09-17-2009 04:52 PM

Re: HIDS strobe
 
HIDs only operate on 35W whereas halogens operate on 55W. The draw difference is triggering a fault code - hence the flickering. A relay harness will do the trick on the Jeep:

http://www.KBcarstuff.com/Headlight_..._p/wirehar.htm

Steve


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community