Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Is the accessory power lead needed for a double din? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/is-the-accessory-power-lead-needed-for-a-double-din-25293.html)

dane.p 07-04-2011 12:23 PM

Is the accessory power lead needed for a double din?
 
Having the base Jeep Grand Cherokee, I also have the factory head unit. Do I need an integration adapter to bring enough power to the new double din head unit, which is a dvd receiver? This is confusing the hell out of me:confused:

jlewissystem 07-04-2011 04:26 PM

Re: Is the accessory power lead needed for a double din?
 
Power shouldnt matter....you should only need a wiring harness or optional CANbus adapters to integrate into the steering controls. I originally had a factory radio and installed a double-din. I attempted the CANbus. It didnt work out too well, so i dumped it (steering wheel controls) and only used a wiring harness. Since i integrated a backup cam, i also used the relay MOD for continuous movie play (to override the e-Brake).

dane.p 07-04-2011 07:25 PM

Re: Is the accessory power lead needed for a double din?
 
I'm only worried about it cuz whenever I visit crutchfield they tell me that if I choose to install a double din dvd receiver, I have to have an adapter for the accessory power lead. Sick jeep by the way.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community