Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   730N and Sirius Traffic? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/730n-and-sirius-traffic-25871.html)

plynn7 07-18-2011 09:42 AM

730N and Sirius Traffic?
 
So I take a trip from PA to VA about 190 miles this weekend, I have taken this trip a couple a times a year for the last twenty years, so I know the route. So I set the Nav to guide me to see how well the SiriusTraffic service works. It was annoying, the voice kept coming on every ten minutes or so telling me that my route is being recalculated to do traffic condition, this continued throughout the entire trip and I never got rerouted away from the normal route that I have always taken. Also the distance to my destination readout on the Nav kept changing by about 10 miles. It seemed like it kept rerouting me from the original course and then reroute me back. There was never any back ups during my trip. Has anyone else used the Sirius traffic and got the same results?

ColdCase 07-18-2011 10:38 AM

Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?
 
Usually not, but there have been a few occasions alternate routing was calculated, and a few occasions when alternate routes should have been.

Its seems the 730N just reroutes on occasion on a whim.

The sirius traffic service appears to have the same issues other services have had for years, traffic jam notifications are always late, and traffic clearing indications are way late. I was in a traffic jam on I84 for near an hour last week before Sirius traffic reported it and the Nav offered an alternate route, which by that time was also jammed without indication. Not happy with the traffic service, certainly not worth the subscription to me. Radio traffic reports on the 5s and google maps (on the iPad) seem to provide much more accurate and up to date information, but also not without their issues.

netcoolery 07-18-2011 11:18 AM

Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?
 
Driving back from Orange County to Phoenix, I had the 730N Nav system recalculate and send me on a slightly longer route (leaving Riverside, heading for I-10.) I'll never know if it was right, but I believed it because the stretch of road it was steering me away from is prone to backups and delays.

So I'm going to guess that I got some real value there - although I'll never know for sure.

In general though, I agree with the above posters that the Sirius traffic updates are usually too late to be worth anything.

Technosavant 07-19-2011 11:45 AM

Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?
 
Keep in mind that when you input a route, it checks traffic along the ENTIRE route. So if you're doing a 600 mile run through several metro areas, you could well be hearing notifications of a route change for a traffic incident that is 300 miles away and will be long cleared before you get anywhere close.

Factor in the late notification and late clearing of events, and the traffic capability isn't all it's really cracked up to be. Sometimes it helps. Sometimes not.

I generally don't program in a destination on a long trip until I'm getting close unless I'm just not that familiar with the route in general.

JoeSchmoe007 07-19-2011 12:21 PM

Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?
 
Can 730N be set not to take traffic into consideration for routing?

ColdCase 07-19-2011 12:25 PM

Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeSchmoe007 (Post 450809)
Can 730N be set not to take traffic into consideration for routing?

Yes, you can disable auto routing on traffic (i.e don't select avoid traffic on the routing preferences screen)

Celly 07-20-2011 01:04 PM

Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?
 
I had Navtraffic on my last car.. It's a damn Joke. By the time it tells you there is traffic it is either too late, or way too late. I can not tell you how many times I saw the Accident icon where I was at and there was no accident.

If you have a smart phone, I would check Google traffic as well. I have found that to be a tad more up to date.

moontz 07-20-2011 05:49 PM

Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by plynn7 (Post 449972)
So I take a trip from PA to VA about 190 miles this weekend, I have taken this trip a couple a times a year for the last twenty years, so I know the route. So I set the Nav to guide me to see how well the SiriusTraffic service works. It was annoying, the voice kept coming on every ten minutes or so telling me that my route is being recalculated to do traffic condition, this continued throughout the entire trip and I never got rerouted away from the normal route that I have always taken. Also the distance to my destination readout on the Nav kept changing by about 10 miles. It seemed like it kept rerouting me from the original course and then reroute me back. There was never any back ups during my trip. Has anyone else used the Sirius traffic and got the same results?

Ha... I hate that traffic thing.. I turned it off .. Talks more than my wife :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community