Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f77/)
-   -   Code P0274 (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f77/code-p0274-25883.html)

venusfan 07-18-2011 02:48 PM

Code P0274

Was driving my '05 WK today and pressed on the gas and was doing about 45 when all of a sudden I loss all engine and power steering then the engine light came on. I tried to restart the car and it started up then shut down Immediately. I did that for a 3-4 more times then I waited a couple mins and it then started up. I took it to Autozone and they game me that code which I guess is fuel injector problem. I'm so cured because my extended warranty ended a month ago.

For the past few months when I start the car and it's on idle at around 500, the engine would race to 1000-1500 then back down. It was doing it constantly. I took it to chrysler but they said there was no problem. I am not a mechanic so is something like that an expensive fix at the stealership. Or could a reputable job do it for cheaper. Are there any remedies I can try.. please help

2005JGC 07-18-2011 03:11 PM

Re: Code P0274

What engine do you have?

I dont see P0274 injector 4 circuit high causing a vehicle shutdown unless its shorting out on something more important.

If you have a 4.7l engine your tps is your likely idle issue... VERY common also VERY common to not throw a code pertaining to its failure. Infact on the WJ they hardly EVER throw a code for the tps but will throw a p020x (x being 1-8 for the cylinder) for injector circuit failure due to internal circutry in the pcm being affected by feedback from a failing tps sensor.

venusfan 07-18-2011 03:26 PM