Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Grand Cherokee - WK (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/)
-   -   Got NEW PCM today - Or did I? Code still there. (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/got-new-pcm-today-or-did-i-code-still-there-26037.html)

jwernatl 07-21-2011 06:10 PM

Got NEW PCM today - Or did I? Code still there.
 
Hey everyone - 2005 Grand Cherokee Limited - I've had the *service 4wd system* for some time now.

It's not all the time, it's maybe 2 out of 3 times I turn the ignition on. If I turn the ignition on and it's there, I can turn the ignition back off then turn it on again and the *service 4wd system* may or may not be there. If it's not there I start it up and driveaway. If it is there I can repeat untill it doesnt show up. <--gets old

TODAY I GOT A NEW PCM because they had tried to down load the update and (you guys may remember) it locked up my PCM all together. Well, the next day they got it to come back to life & after that they then tried to load the update again, the load was succesfull - However the code came back. SOOOOO Today they gave me the NEW PCM!!

It did not work !!! The 2nd time I turned on the ignition there it was the *service 4wd system*!!!

1.Could it be because I have smaller tires? - Is there a sensor that knows how fast the tires are going and a sensor that knows how fast the driveshaft is turning and - those two should have the same equaled value - after certain considerations, ofcourse? If this were the case you would think it would come on only when I'm driving-- aka the wheels turning...

2.How about a bad sensor? if it were a sensor, wouldnt it happen all the time? and it would show a code! I can sit there and flip the ignition switch off then on until it doesnt show.

3.How about a bad ground? I can see that. But I think it would come on and go off when the Jeep jiggles, wiggles, hits a bump, makes a certain turn etc...

a)It never comes on while driving.

b)It never goes off while driving.

c)I can control it by the ignition switch.

d)Update was performed (reflash)on original PCM -- 'or was it?'

e)New PCM installed -It wasnt remaned It was new I saw it, but I didnt actually see the installation I left and went up to the waiting room- was it installed? yea had to be. -- 'or was it?'

If you get a new PMC is everything in the jeep supposed to be reset?
It wasnt. Nothing was reset - I'm speaking of things such as mileage to oil change, time driven nothing. anybody know??

Ideas on this entire situation???

jwernatl 07-21-2011 06:14 PM

Re: Got NEW PCM today - Or did I? Code still there.
 
I'm a dummy I went out and checked - It's the new PCM. I thought it had a cover on it but I guess not It's right there on the passenger side- It's for sure the new one I saw today.

SO WHY? WHY? WHY? WHAT AM I MISSING? IT'S DRIVING ME NUTS. I SWEAR IT's GONNA PUT ME IN WITH THE ONE WHO FLEW OVER THE COOCOOS NEST!!

Souper Phly 07-21-2011 06:18 PM

Re: Got NEW PCM today - Or did I? Code still there.
 
I thought the service 4wd issue was in the FDCM not the PCM

jlewissystem 07-21-2011 06:26 PM

Re: Got NEW PCM today - Or did I? Code still there.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Souper Phly (Post 452333)
I thought the service 4wd issue was in the FDCM not the PCM

YEP - that was the fix for me, not PCM - BAD dealer:mad:

robpp 07-21-2011 07:33 PM

Re: Got NEW PCM today - Or did I? Code still there.
 
^^^^^^thats does sound right in lots of cases.


this is in MY words and prolly isnt 100% correct but I been around wk forums a bit so here goes...........

OP the dealer must be guessing something was CORRUPT in your PCM and got you a new one. then once they had the pcm they had to use starscan to LOAD your VIN in it. THEN based on your vin and there is something called a CALID ( calid might just be a fancy name for version number) it will load the latest cnfiguration that matches yur jeep. there are lots of CALIDs out there due to all the configurations on the WKS. thats the unique identifier.

back to the service 4wd.........i think i agree with those guys above me and FDCM/

GL



all communication comes thru the canbus.

jwernatl 07-21-2011 08:27 PM

Re: Got NEW PCM today - Or did I? Code still there.
 
Final Drive Control Module (FDCM) So all this for nothing? Nothing? 'comon. What am I supposed to do? Can I have the flash that? Are they idiots or am I? Me.

Anybody know where the FDCM is? Is that why all of my mileage stuff in my EVIC didnt change?

What does the FDCM do? What does the PCM do?

SvenskaJeepGuy 07-21-2011 08:38 PM

Re: Got NEW PCM today - Or did I? Code still there.
 
yep, it is FDCM and not PCM. the milage is stored in the gauge cluster. if you get a used one from a yard or ebay it will read the milage of the other jeep and not yours.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community