Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/)
-   -   how to reboot RHR? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f107/how-to-reboot-rhr-26633.html)

Jgauthier 08-04-2011 10:14 AM

how to reboot RHR?
 
hi,

My Rhr froze the other day while trying to do a phone call. Here is what happened:

I was listening to my iPod using bluetooth streaming when all of a sudden, itstopped playing. For some reason, The radio still considered my iPhone as being connected although it wasn't anymore. I even shutted down the phone inthe hope that the radio would disconnect but it didn't work. I then tried to do a phone call from the radio and it displayed the standard "calling" screen although my phone was off. From then, I could not get out of there, go on the radio or hang-off. The calling screen refused to leave. I even stopped the car for 10 minutes (off position) and the screen stayed on! I was worried about it draining the car battery... I tried all sort of key combinations to reset the RHR but no success. There is no mention about it in the user manual either.

Does anyone know if there is a way to force a reset on this radio?
thanks!

Radside 08-04-2011 02:23 PM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
Pull the fuse. It is eithe M10 or M12...I don't remember which.

Jgauthier 08-05-2011 09:56 AM

no soft-reset?

Radside 08-05-2011 10:10 AM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
Not that I know about. I vaguely remembe an option to reset to default settings but I'm not sure if that is just for the Navigation or the entire unit. I believe that option is in the Engineering mode. I'm at work now on my motorcycle so I can't check for sure.

Hollywood 08-06-2011 08:02 AM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
Had a very similar problem:

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/730n-uconnect-question-26343.html

I did read on here somewhere (sorry, can't remember where or find it at the moment), that there IS a way to do a soft re-boot of the RHR by holding both Seek Up and Down at the same time, or something like that?

Maybe the person that posted the info can chime in here?

Red G8R 01-20-2012 02:38 PM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
This just happened to me yesterday. I had just ended a phone call and the radio froze. I could not turn it off and even turning off the car did not make a difference. I remembered reading about pulling the fuse (M13), did that and problem solved......so far.

*sox* 01-20-2012 06:10 PM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
Have you install the new update 2.120??

aphexafx 01-21-2012 02:35 AM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
The correct fuse is M12 in the TIPM.

For REF: http://www.wk2jeeps.com/misc/Fuses_2011_2012_wk.pdf

Hollywood 01-21-2012 08:36 AM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
Shame there isn't an easier way to do a re-boot. Fortunately, when this happened to me. It did correct itself after letting the truck sit for a few hours.

77Cherokee 01-21-2012 10:46 AM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
You can force a reboot anytime by pressing both Seek buttons along with the Nav button. However, if the system is totally locked up you might still have to pull the fuse.

markp99 03-19-2012 06:45 AM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
I can confirm the Seek+/Seek-/Nav button sequence has ZERO effect on a locked-up unit.

(hung during update to v2.120) _ UGH!!

*sox* 03-19-2012 02:14 PM

Re: how to reboot RHR?
 
no soft reset, pull the fuse this will work.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community