Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/)
-   -   Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/lockpick-is-speed-always-zero-on-garmin-nav-26786.html)

hammick 08-07-2011 08:39 PM

Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
I really like how Garmin shows the current speed on the map display. I have read that Lockpick makes this always read zero.

Is Lockpick always active or only when inputting an address or watching a video while moving. In other words, will the Garmin display the speed when just using the map and/or routing to a destination?

Thanks.

IndyBob 08-08-2011 04:02 AM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hammick (Post 461802)
I really like how Garmin shows the current speed on the map display. I have read that Lockpick makes this always read zero.

Is Lockpick always active or only when inputting an address or watching a video while moving. In other words, will the Garmin display the speed when just using the map and/or routing to a destination?

Thanks.

Yes, with LockPick connected the actual speed will be shown as zero. I believe that it is intercepting the speed signal to be able to allow inputs and show video while moving.

hammick 08-08-2011 03:11 PM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
Thank for the reply. Can it be disabled on the touch screen so the 99% of the time I am not routing I can see the speed I am going?

IndyBob 08-08-2011 03:15 PM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hammick (Post 462133)
Thank for the reply. Can it be disabled on the touch screen so the 99% of the time I am not routing I can see the speed I am going?

Not that I know of.

hammick 08-16-2011 03:35 PM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
I called them and they said the lockpick can be disabled on the touchscreen. My arrived today. I will report back after I get it installed.

nlowell 08-16-2011 05:28 PM

Which lockpick did you order? Interested to hear your perception of the backup camera quality.

Radside 08-16-2011 06:21 PM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hammick (Post 467075)
I called them and they said the lockpick can be disabled on the touchscreen. My arrived today. I will report back after I get it installed.

I'm interested to hear how it can be disabled on the screen.

hammick 08-16-2011 09:21 PM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nlowell (Post 467135)
Which lockpick did you order? Interested to hear your perception of the backup camera quality.

I may be wrong but the backup on option looks the same at it does without the lockpick installed.

hammick 08-16-2011 09:25 PM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Radside (Post 467179)
I'm interested to hear how it can be disabled on the screen.

See my review here: http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/lockpick-ver-4-with-430n-garmin-nav-27203.html

There is a button called Automatic OVR that disables the GPS input and DVD play functions. You can also toggle disable or enable by turning the unit off and then back on within one second.

Radside 08-17-2011 05:10 AM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hammick (Post 467378)
See my review here: http://www.jeepgarage.org/showthread.php?t=27203

There is a button called Automatic OVR that disables the GPS input and DVD play functions. You can also toggle disable or enable by turning the unit off and then back on within one second.

Thanks.. I have an earlier build of the CHR550 so I hope this function is built in. I've give it a shot today.

IndyBob 08-17-2011 05:58 AM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hammick (Post 467378)
See my review here: http://www.jeepgarage.org/showthread.php?t=27203

There is a button called Automatic OVR that disables the GPS input and DVD play functions. You can also toggle disable or enable by turning the unit off and then back on within one second.

I have the Lockpick version 3 and I don't have that option. Oh well, the cost of buying early.

hammick 08-17-2011 08:38 AM

Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IndyBob (Post 467512)
I have the Lockpick version 3 and I don't have that option. Oh well, the cost of buying early.

Might be worth a call to see if there is a firmware update or one planned.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community