Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Troubleshooting/Problems (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/)
-   -   Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo Code P1389 (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f203/jeep-grand-cherokee-laredo-code-p1389-27689.html)

beto4632 08-26-2011 02:08 PM

Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo Code P1389

Hi,
Im new to the jeep garage hope im on the right section.
So yesterday I was driving back home on the freeway and all of a suden my car starts decelerating so I pull over to the side. Turn off the car and try to turn it back on and nothing. I got a buddy to come see what could be wrong and with his code checker he got the code "P1389" No ASD Relay Output Voltage At PCM.. This is the 1st time this has happend ever since ive had my car. The oil and temperature gage would not move there was no way of starting the car so it had to be towed back home. Any suggestion or help will be great I love my jeep its my daily driver.
99 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
4.0 2wd V6
The help will be very appreciated.

Frango100 08-26-2011 02:16 PM

Re: Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo Code P1389

Welcome to the garage.
I would start changing the ASD relay in the Power Distribution Center (under the hood). There are probably some more same relays in there, so you could first swap it with an other one to see if that will solve your problem, before buying a new one. Also fuse 6 (30A) and 26 (15A) in the PDC could be the problem. And fuse 12 (10A) on the junction block (fuseblock under the steering wheel), check them out first.
By the way, your engine is an I6....:D
Also the next time you would have engine problems, you can check the fault codes without scanner. Just switch the ignition switch 3 times from OFF to ON and leave it in ON after the third time. The odometer will show you your fault code(s), or DONE will appear when no faults present.

beto4632 08-26-2011 03:37 PM

Frango 100 Thank You!