Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f109/)
-   -   Speedo Recal (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f109/speedo-recal-27793.html)

JF_Inferno 08-29-2011 01:02 PM

Speedo Recal

I have been running Nitto Terra Grapplers for the last 4 months. I went up to 275/65 18. Look great! I get compliments all the time...way more masculine/meaty tire. I noticed right away a more heavy feeling when accelerating and tremendous change in MPG's. Im averageing 17.5 (Evic) primarily hwy and some city and hand calculations (app) 16.6 a tank. To which I continue kicking myself for not getting the hemi.

However I have read and used an online MPG convertor that enlightened me that due to larger tires my speedometer is now off by 2.5 mph (60mph now = 62.5). So this can greatly affect my mileage and mpgs. I have called the local dealer and they can recalculate for a quoted price of $65.

I'm curious if any of you guys running larger than stock tires have had the recalcuations done and/or noticed the diffrences in MPG's?

rangersplash85 08-29-2011 04:51 PM

Re: Speedo Recal

I'm running JK Sahara take-offs right now. Haven't bothered with a recal. It works out to about a 3% difference so I just factor that into my speed and milage. At 20 mpg should only make about a .6 mpg difference.

JayB 09-01-2011 02:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rangersplash85 (Post 475135)
I'm running JK Sahara take-offs right now. Haven't bothered with a recal. It works out to about a 3% difference so I just factor that into my speed and milage. At 20 mpg should only make about a .6 mpg difference.

Same here. Haven't changed any calibrations.
I still average 20mpg mixed over the last 4500 mi. :thumbsup:

H2rescue 09-01-2011 03:26 PM

I believe the dealer can only recalibrate to the smallest and largest size that came factory on it. Don't think they can do it for larger than factory tires iirc.