Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio/Visual/Navigation (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f186/)
-   -   REC upgrade in '05 WK...IDAHO??? (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f186/rec-upgrade-in-05-wk-idaho-29328.html)

DrumT 10-04-2011 04:03 PM

REC upgrade in '05 WK...IDAHO???
 
I purchased my 05 with the stock non-NAV radio. I did the upgrade with a unit and GPS antenna I purchased on ebay. The fit was quick, especially when I noticed the antenna grabbed on to a peice of metal in the dash...magnetic? Cool! I popped the bezel on and was rockin' in no time!

As of late the NAV keeps losing my location, putting me about 5 miles off my current location. My question is, can I reset the head unit? Let me further explain that the "home" location when I first plugged the unit in was somewhere in Idaho. Since then when I punch in an item to search, like "Walgreens pharmacy" I get stores located in Idaho. Even though, I had set my home location to my suburban town west of Chicago.

I actually found this site because of a poster by who made an AI disc from a torrent. So, I am also wondering if my "AE" NAV disc is holding me back.

Looking forward to some direction. Thanks in advance!

SvenskaJeepGuy 10-04-2011 06:21 PM

Re: REC upgrade in '05 WK...IDAHO???
 
Unplug the unit for a few minutes and then plug it back it. It should work fine. I had a similar problem and it thought i was in michigan for a while

DrumT 10-06-2011 04:25 PM

Re: REC upgrade in '05 WK...IDAHO???
 
I'll give it a shot! Thanks.

Diboblo 10-29-2011 03:20 PM

Re: REC upgrade in '05 WK...IDAHO???
 
Here's a link to the REC owner's manual.

In there, you will find instructions on how to set your state... That's what you need to do. I upgraded the base radio in the wife's RT Magnum, to an REC and needed to set the state to California. After I did that, we had no trouble with it :)

BTW... setting "Home" only allows you a quick point of reference for when you want to get home. It is not a point of reference for any coordinates, or way points within the system.

Hope this helps,
Bob

Galaxie500 10-31-2011 08:14 PM

Re: REC upgrade in '05 WK...IDAHO???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Diboblo (Post 506085)
Here's a link to the REC owner's manual.

In there, you will find instructions on how to set your state... That's what you need to do. I upgraded the base radio in the wife's RT Magnum, to an REC and needed to set the state to California. After I did that, we had no trouble with it :)

BTW... setting "Home" only allows you a quick point of reference for when you want to get home. It is not a point of reference for any coordinates, or way points within the system.

Hope this helps,
Bob

Setting the state messed me up to. We visited Reno, NV and the girlfriend changed the states from CA to NV without me knowing it....so when we got back to CA I thought that it was broken until the GF asked if I changed the state back to CA.....I was like what??? Our Jeeps are cool. I like the home feature; it's a quick way to find home if you’re not sure what direction/on ramp to take.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community