Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum

Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (http://www.jeepgarage.org/forums.php)
-   Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/)
-   -   Aftermarket 6-Channel Amp to Replace Factory Amp (http://www.jeepgarage.org/f50/aftermarket-6-channel-amp-to-replace-factory-amp-29489.html)

RockMtnJeep 10-08-2011 11:46 PM

Aftermarket 6-Channel Amp to Replace Factory Amp
 
Hey guys, I have recently upgraded my sound system in my WK- here's what I got- Rockford Fosgate P2 Subs 12" x2 with Pioneer 760watt 2 channel amp, All 6 speakers in doors and in dash replaced with Infinity Reference series speakers, and Sony BT head unit. I have upgraded the factory Boston Acoustics amp to the Kicker Amp upgrade but I'm not as satisfied as I thought I would be- still lacks the power I want. My question is, would it be a pain to install an aftermarket 6-channel amp to power the 6 dash/door speakers? Would I have to re-wire everything or just cut off the factory connectors that go into the factory amp and splice and connect the wires to the aftermarket amp? I understand that I'll lose the crossover network that the factory amp provides, but I'd rather have all 6 speakers as full range with my subs for bass. Just needing some feedback and advice from some of the experts.
Thanks.

robpp 10-09-2011 11:35 AM

Re: Aftermarket 6-Channel Amp to Replace Factory Amp
 
your new harness should have the capability of adding amps......

how did you do your speakers? use the existing or run new?

well maybe that dont matter......just try unpluggin the amp in the back. dont cut any wires unless you have to.

RockMtnJeep 10-09-2011 07:27 PM

Re: Aftermarket 6-Channel Amp to Replace Factory Amp
 
I used the existing wiring for the door/dash speakers. When the factory amp is unpluged, only the subs play. So I'm thinking I will probably have to cut off the wires at the connection for the factory amp in order to install something aftermarket unless there is a bypass adapter that I could use- there is one I saw on Crutchfield but I'm not exactly sure thats what I need.

Diboblo 10-29-2011 11:41 AM

Re: Aftermarket 6-Channel Amp to Replace Factory Amp
 
METRA makes an amp bypass connector kit that eliminates the need to cut ANY WIRES at all. This may be your best solution for what you have going on.

Here you go: Metra part # 70-6504

Bob

Diboblo 10-29-2011 11:42 AM

Re: Aftermarket 6-Channel Amp to Replace Factory Amp
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RockMtnJeep (Post 496225)
I have upgraded the factory Boston Acoustics amp to the Kicker Amp...

If that's the 77KICK18AB, I'm interested, if you ditch it :thumbsup:

Bob


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community